April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Moe

by davidwparker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

KNOWN BUGS:
* fix bounding box collision detection
* fix (remove) fired shots after level complete
* fix sound... I started it, but it doesn't always load properly (yay audio API)... but I did fix the Google PageSpeed Caching bug (so it doesn't alert that it didn't load).

More TODOs:
* add (more/better) graphics
* -> I started to make a cool shader for Moe: http://glsl.heroku.com/e#8379.0
* -> But I didn't get to use it for Moe because of a few issues
* add more levels...

TESTED ON:
OSX:
Chrome (works best)
Firefox (works okay)
Safari (doesn't work)

STORY:
You're Moe. You're a minimalist. You like Circles and continuous lines. You don't like shapes with a bunch of corners. So you're out to destroy them. Do it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#949Humor1.69
#1118Fun2.29
#1143Theme2.82
#1162Mood2.13
#1194Overall2.46
#1210Graphics2.11
#1248Innovation2.00
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Just in case you don't know: None of your .wav files were found.

davidwparker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Hi @SuperlevelSebastian,

Yeah, I put that in my known bugs... they actually are found if you refresh (most of the time)... but they're just loaded poorly with HTML5 Audio API. Sorry!

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29am

The bullets don't exactly go where you click the mouse. Nice little game though.

sharbelfs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

Did you try use auto shot?

peaveyj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36am

Good mechanic! Wonder how it would be on a touch screen.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:48am

No audio :(. Would have loved to just keep the mouse button pressed to keep shooting ;).

dreamlogician says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11pm

I enjoyed this - nice job providing a quick burst of frantic fun. ^_^

I actually started to write a comment saying "nice touch on making Moe's eyes move along with the mouse", then I played again and realized that this didn't happen at all and was just a weird optical illusion caused by only looking at Moe's face from the corner of my eye while focusing on the incoming shapes. Creepy!

davidwparker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:28pm

@argo15 - yeah, this is a known bug :( It's set up to work on my exact resolution only right now...
@sharbelfs and @pvwradtke - I didn't even think about autoshots/holding mouse down to continuously fire. I like it and should add that sometime in the future.
@peaveyj - thanks!
@pvwradtke - yeah, the audio doesn't load everytime :( if you refresh after the first time, sometimes it loads okay...
@dreamlogician - thanks! If you check the glsl link above, I had spent time starting to get the eyes to follow along with the mouse, but I had some issues and didn't end up having time.

rwos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice little game. The "bugs" actually make it more interesting to play (especially the weird shooting controls). :-)

Couldn't get the audio to play here. I'm pretty sure that when you try to load the sound files the way you do (by setting src on the Audio object), you'll have to call load() on it afterwards. But you can also just put the src into the Audio constructor (i.e. var foo = new Audio("foo.wav")) . That's the way I did it and that seemed to work fine.

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Interesting concept but it tends to get repetitive...

xandy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:17pm

65:3420 :)

davidB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:26pm

a killer for mouse button. A gameplay for touchscreen, so I tried it on android Firefox (support WebGL), slow on nexus7 and the moe doesn't fire to the correct target point. Fun idea.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:43pm

No sound played for me, so I cant rate you on that unfortunatly.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Nice concept, simple but clean I liked it.

Few issues for me: Aiming was a bit annoying as it didn't seem to go where I was clicking. Couldn't hear any sound. Sometimes there were long gaps between the different waves in the levels.

Otherwise yeah, good stuff :)

HeyChinaski says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Nice shooter. It's perfectly minimalist although I think a little more sophistication wouldn't have gone amiss. Some powerups perhaps.

rzfmzn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I can only say one thing: "Well, that escalated quickly"
hahahahahha
nice game my friend =O) Liked it a lot including the pain in my muscles due the insane clicking =O)

Spiridios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

No audio on Firefox or Chrome. Bullets don't fire where the mouse is. But, fun shooter game, just need to work out the bugs and maybe add some powerups to add some variation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]