April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

min-max

by tgwozdz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first LD48 entry!

I took the 'minimalism' theme to the extreme. The game was written in only about 6 hours, on Sunday night. Uses no art assets, and only 2 sound effects.

The gameplay is likewise very minimalistic. There's no 'win' condition. You play until you lose, and play for a high score.

It was created in Unity3d. Sound effects created by cfxr. Uses a free font available here: http://www.dafont.com/squared-display.font?text=End&psize=l&back=theme

Somewhat inspired by this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Mondrian_Comp10.jpg

How to play:
- Fill in as much of the screen area with color.
- Avoid overlapping already colored areas with more color.
- You can only add color by clicking on the rectangle formed by the 4 moving lines on the screen.
- Clicking outside of this rectangle loses the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Innovation3.61
#235Theme3.89
#952Mood2.47
#955Audio1.96
#987Overall2.75
#1024Graphics2.41
#1083Fun2.36
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

negativeview says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

This didn't really feel like a game. It felt like a task. I had no feedback on how I was doing until the very end. I gave you high marks for innovation and theme because it is very innovative, but I think that this experiment mostly failed as a game.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

I liked the concept. I'm sorry there's no goal though :)

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

I liked it! I thought it was a nice concept :)

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28am

I enjoyed it. After failing once, I had no problems understanding how to proceed. I think that it's a bit too random as far as how zones get created, so it's easy to click on what USED to be a closed zone except one of the edges JUST went away this frame. It took a few tries until I realized that I COULD overlap without game-ending penalties.

I didn't play enough to see whether there's a 'success' condition. What happens if you fill up the entire screen? Victory dance?

marnaouf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

interesting concept.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:08pm

The game's interesting... Although I just kept on clicking stuff...

anjack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:19am

This reminded me of the old arcade games (Pac-Man) where most of the time you'd never make it all the way to the end, so your only motivation was to get the high score and brag to your friends. This is like a minimalist version of that concept. Great job!

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:24am

I like the palette. I think it could have done with some more ambient sound effects, particularly as it's a game that rewards patience.

Pabo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:00am

A novel idea, that fits the theme. Maybe basing the gameplay less on luck (randomization of bars) would benefit the game even more, I'm not sure though. Good minimalistic concept and well executed.

elektron says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Excellent! It's kind of easy to skip through the end before it gives you your score. I think it should fade in faster.

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Nice toy to play with ... good job from such minimal input and with so little output.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]