April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Starvin Stu's Spud Farm

by daydalus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#131Humor3.18
#621Innovation3.04
#726Graphics2.81
#825Overall2.92
#880Mood2.56
#886Audio2.12
#962Fun2.54
#1128Theme2.84
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

daydalus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34am

Hey all - this build is in XNA for Windows only :( Hoping to have the port (monogame, jsil) up tomorrow.

Thanks!

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

Darn bird stealing my potatoes! Only problem I had was that after a while it says I have 8 seeds left but it wouldn't let me plant anymore.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27am

It doesn't seem to work properly. When I want to sell something, I have less money than before. :/

daydalus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Few extra things:
-Green potatos will poison you, and will sell for negative money. You can trash them (lower right basket) or throw them at crows.
-In the font, a zero looks similar to an 8.

-Hope to have HTML5 port up sometime today

daydalus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Game is now playable on the web - XNA converted to HTML5 via JSIL (http://jsil.org/). Currently sound is disabled, and the Hunger bar isn't showing up. Everything else should work.

Kilian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Except your mentioned points it works great in my browser. Never heard of JSIL before.
Also - nice game! Is it possible to defeat the crow?

daydalus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Currently crow(s) can't be killed, only scared away.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

0 looks like 8... :) Kinda strange game, does it have any sound ? (Sound didn't play in firefox...) Otherwise, clever game, too clever for me I always lose! :)

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

The zeroes really do look like 8's.

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice game I like the idea

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Does the game ends somehow? I did not managed to beat it.
Planted and collected loads of potatoes, after a good while messing around with the interface buttons to figure out how stuff works.
Only after I was about to quit the game I found out there is a help screen when you hit Pause/Esc. Phew.

Anyway I had some fun.
Still missed sounds on my end. Would have been nice.

daydalus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38am

Newest web version should now have sound! Horay for reading JSIL documentation!

May 1, 2013 @ 10:43am

Too bad the theme wasn't "potato", this would have ranked pretty highly. How do you win?

daydalus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:23am

There's no end or win state. Mostly just to see how much money you can make. If you want to challenge yourself, try to get to $200

kibertoad says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:34pm

That was pretty nice. Wish you included an installer-free Windows version, though, had to play with browser, and it crashes in latest Firefox. Chrome is OK, though.

BradleySmith says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:41am

Pretty neat, sound effects made me laugh. :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]