April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Take The Red Orb

by Gareth Jenkins - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take The Red Orb is an a minimalist action game that started off as a minimalist hidden object / point at the object type game. Original idea was to have a single red orb (or object at that time) in a sea of similarly-coloured objects. It's changed a little since then (more than one red orb, more of a focus on control and skill than on finding objects).

It's pretty simple: click on the red orbs to collect them, move the mouse to control the camera.

If you collect orbs quickly enough, you start accumulating score. At this point you need to continue to collect orbs at a consistent pace to not lose your score. All of this is pretty obviously manifest through the changing art and audio in the game.

Though at first it feels like you should be going for orbs as soon as you see them, to achieve higher score (by not making a mistake for longer) you'll want to hold on to some orbs while you plan a route (don't hold on to them for too long else they'll go away again).

This was bundles of fun to make -- about 4 hours design & basic controls yesterday, 2-3 hours of music making early this morning and then a solid 10-11 hours this afternoon & evening getting it all working right and integrated. I hope you enjoy playing it as much as I did making (and playing) it ;)

* Note: the Linux version uses the Unity 4 Linux publishing preview -- I've tested it okay on Ubuntu but understand there may be issues on other distros.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#249Graphics3.55
#340Audio3.06
#363Mood3.13
#553Overall3.17
#640Innovation3.02
#646Theme3.45
#835Fun2.68
#980Humor1.64

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Psychedelic stuff man.

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

Despite how simple it is, its actually hard to stop playing.

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03am

This is really effective. Love the visuals. It's a really compelling mechanic.

Nambew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

The game is fun and it's more difficult with my macbook touch pad.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Neat concept and looks quite nice. Sadly I am red/green colourblind...and cannot play this game with any level of skill.

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

What a trip! O.O Good work on this!

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Reall physchedelic the camera xD. Its nice, but it needs some kind of effect when you click on the red spheres and some fx.

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Great game!

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Awesome controls, graphics and sound. simply, yet hard master. i love it!

Liikeaturtle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Very very cool

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

almost claustrophobic ! love the looks of this one; simple gameplay, but fun

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

hypnotizing :D

papa_troll says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

Great sound, simple compelling play.

NuSan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Simple but beauty. How to score is not realy obvious, but it add a little depth to it. I like the graphics.

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Lags as hell for me: ~2 FPS (Linux Mint 12 32bit, 4GB Ram, 2x2 Ghz, Intel graphics chip)

Broxxar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30pm

This I like. Seeing a lot of use of primitive shapes in unity being called minimalism but not achieving much. This however, just uses primitives and lighting to really create a cool environment.

My one and only suggestion would be to give all the spheres a pulsing animation, either translation, scale, or maybe both. Make the whole environment more dynamic.

Anyway, great use of theme, great mood created, well done.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:30pm

It is a thing of beauty! The gameplay is a bit simple for my tastes but the crazy amount of polish more than makes up for it.

dotteri says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Simple and addictive. Are we inside a giant molecule?

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:54am

Great alien feel, quite creepy, love the music, game needs a bit more interest but I guess that would break the minimalism feel - maybe do something more with it now compo finished ? Would make a groovy screensaver for a wall sized whiteboard !

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Lots of polish, minimal gameplay. Unfortunately that combination is completely counter to my own priorities, but very very well executed.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Nice way of playing with the FOV! I find it a bit harsh that the score resets on the first misclick (max 35 for me... getting old). But still, nice atmosphere and nice game!

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Superb entry, it's beautiful and it fits very well the theme. Too bad there is no progression in the gameplay through time. The atmosphere is incredible. Bravo :)

elbowroom says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:37am

This was the best use of Unity I've seen so far in the competition. I have to say it would be a blessing if there was a clear indication of why you lose all your score (I've gotten up to 53 and then back to 0) as I read the instructions and did not seen anything in the HUD that shows how much time I have left between clicks and did not get a visual or acoustic cue that I lost my score because I clicked the wrong thing. Hope this helps (I did not detract points for this issue).

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:43am

Never though I'd play an intestine simulation game on day.

FaBrito says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:00am

Really simple and well executed idea. It's intuitive but I would enjoy more audio and/or visual feedback when the chain is broken or when a new highscore is achieved...
the lights were well set, as sometimes it can make some misdirection about where's the red orb. Well done!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Once I figured out how to get points it was pretty fun. Music was great, and graphics... come one, you already KNOW that the style is awesome! ;)

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Wow very addictive game! Don't like that there is too little time to catch second red orb when you started combo, but anyway it's cool work :)

juaxix says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Trippy

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:40pm

The lights often made it impossible to see the colours properly.
Some feedback on hit/miss would have been useful.
Neat little game though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]