April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MBlok

by NAMKCOR - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Download should be about 5mb, Windows version ( should ) work in WINE for Linux.

The game is also available on itch.io: http://dlaguz.itch.io/mblok

You can find the devlog at: http://laguzdev.tumblr.com/ or you can check my blog here on the Ludum Dare page.

------------------------------------

Your GOAL is to DELETE all of the blocks in each level in as few CLICKS as possible, and in as little TIME as possible.

When a block is DELETED it will also DELETE all adjacent blocks that SHARE its COLOR.

If TIME runs out, and blocks REMAIN you will LOSE the LEVEL.
You will NOT LOSE by going over PAR.

You earn BONUS POINTS for staying under PAR in each level.

You earn BONUS POINTS for quickly completing each level.

THINK MINIMALLY TO WIN!

LEVEL SELECT CONTROLS
======================
UP or W - Scroll UP
DOWN or S - Scroll DOWN
ENTER or CLICK - PLAY selected LEVEL


GAME CONTROLS
==========================
UP or W - Shift Gravity UP
DOWN or S - Shift Gravity DOWN
LEFT or A - Shift Gravity LEFT
RIGHT or D - Shift Gravity RIGHT
CLICK - DELETE Block

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#33Graphics4.23
#72Fun3.72
#77Overall3.83
#122Audio3.51
#252Mood3.27
#284Innovation3.47
#505Theme3.58
#936Humor1.71

Comments

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Fits theme well. A little easy on the last level

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33am

I like it, very fluid a pretty game, but I think the levels are too easy :p

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

Very good!

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

The grids are beautiful. I really admire that you didn't just use blocks filled with the single color.

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

well done! like the art and straightforward gameplay. it was a little less puzzle-y than I had expected, though not to its detriment. a minor note- a tutorial would have been nice, as opposed to a wall of text :)

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Really solid game! Looks like it could be a good game for sponsorship, or mobile!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44am

Great game. Looks awesome, while still maintaining the minimalism.

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Zazzy colorful background animation!
It does fit well in premise for minimal theme.. (elimination by match). It didn't felt much challenge at the last part (I think going past the PAR threshold makes it too easy?)
Well done!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45pm

I like the gravity affectors twist on there. The art does a nice touch over all atmosphere. Good stuff

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Great concept and execution! Looks really nice and the gravity changing mechanic has scope for further exploration. So hard to balance this kind of thing in 48 hours, I found the par times a bit on the over-fair side, but understandable!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really cool graphics, very good entry congratz :D

TheSnide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Great idea combined with nice polished touch

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Damn novel, love the style. Sound effects got pretty loud with multiple blocks being detonated, but damn if it doesn't fit the theme like a glove. Kudos! :D

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Really well polished and a solid game idea. Really good job!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very nice presentation, a tad short and easy. But I had some fun playing it.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

An interesting game, and fun, though a bit difficult.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

A solid entry. Polished, complete, feels ready for a game aggregator or my iPhone. Very solid achievement for 48 hours.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

It was a bit short but graphically pleasing.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Love how you took a simple formula but added so much new stuff and polish to it that it feels like a completely new game. I hope you'll keep working on this and make more levels etc.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Awesome little puzzle game - I like the gravity shifting, and the squares in the background that move according to the gravity! Nice complimentary soundtrack too!

Leebo86 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Beautiful game, fun and interesting mechanics. One of the best entries I've seen.

BleuLlama says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Easily one of the games I've played today, even one of the games I've played this year! Cheers!

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I'm impressed by the level of polish you managed to get into the game, it feels like a very complete package.

The gravity part is a nice touch. I like it! :D

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

A very interesting concept! I really like it, but I don't think that it needs a time limit. Really, once you figure out a puzzle you could go back and do it faster pretty easily. Maybe that's the point. Personally I prefer to sit and stare at this sort of game, but I know not everybody has that attitude.

Also, this looks really polished for the time limit.

And of course the stuff we talked about with the colours ;)

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27am

fun game. enjoyed playing it. it could use a bit more innovation. but it´s a solid piece of coding :D

Sanguine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:48am

I'd love to see a post-compo version of this! It's already very complete :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:10am

Nice puzzle.
I liked improved mechanic with gravity of clickmania gameplay =)

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Pretty rad and original puzzle, very complete game on his own. I particularly love the design of the menu, with the background and particles. Add more levels and you'll have a good game to put on Kongregate and stuff, or mobile market.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Quite fun, music was annoyingly load because of my headphones, I normally turn down the volume in everything as windows doesn't go below 2%. Fun game, fairly generic concept but implementation was very good.

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Pretty dang good. Like completely polished and finished game. Good use of minimalism even though it doesn't look like it.

cardboard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Very cool. I kept trying to get the least amount of presses, although I often couldn't. Feels very polished.

robcozzens says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very nice!
It's a good twist on this type of game and it fits the theme perfectly.

May 7, 2013 @ 9:07am

Well done, I like the music and presentation. I thought it would have been more interesting if there was no time pressure but you had enough time to plan and aim for a minimized move count instead. This way I kind of "panicked" and clicked every group of blocks of the same color as quickly as possible which seemed to work pretty well, but wasn't that satisfying because it doesn't seem like I really achieved something with my random clicking.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]