April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flee: The Daily Adventures of a Springtail

by Goodlookinguy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about a Springtail

== Summary ==

This is a game about a springtail inside of a house. The goal of the game is to reach the other side of the room without getting stomped on by feet or run over by the stag beetle/spider things. As each stage progresses the game gets gradually harder. For most people, level 3 is as high as they get.

About Springtails (if you don't know what they are)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=OwOL-MHcQ1w#t=71s
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Springtail

== Thoughts On Entry ==

This is the first LD game I've completed without my team. While not being exactly what I had envisioned, it works.

== NOTES ==

You will see a white screen for a little bit, this is normal. I did not put a pre-loader so it loads all of the resources at once.

== If you plan to complain about the death penalty in the game ==

I don't think you've been exposed to enough Nintendo Hard games or have been spoiled by all of these easy games nowadays. So please stop commenting on that, 'cause I made it hard on purpose. This was not an accident, it was on purpose because there is no end to the game. So I tried to make you die off as quickly as possible.

== Changes ==

At the request from a family member, I changed the first stage game over message to not be as mean sounding, even though it was meant as a joke. So in the source code it still reads "You Suck" even though now it will say "Try Again"...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#247Humor2.76
#443Audio2.88
#596Graphics2.98
#817Fun2.70
#914Overall2.83
#1053Mood2.33
#1097Theme2.89
#1129Innovation2.23

Comments

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Super ant JUMP! Fun game and get harder every time!

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Challenging for sure. Good entry!

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great and simple! :[]

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice take on the theme. Good job on finishing your game!

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

I had fun with this, despite getting squished many times! Nice job.

Some of the obstacles, like the bug that crawls along the ground, appear a little abruptly and were quite tough to react quickly enough to avoid.

Also, the color of the springtail and the background could use a little more contrast - it's tough to see the springtail when jumping.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:07am

fun fun fun ^-))

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:15am

Had fun at first, but that jump makes you feel like you're out of control. Good soundtrack, but the piston sound is too loud for how often it is played.

Jumping over the beetle was too temperamental to be fun, though.

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:24am

This is game is very much a springtail simulator. If you've ever seen them jump, they are pretty out of control. They land on their head half of the time.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:57pm

HA! I love watching other people play this. Also, this dude with 80 fucking legs is a beast! I'd hate to be an insect in his house.

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16am

Why are there so many stomping legs in this house?!? Pretty fun simple game though. The jump is a little wonky, but it had a nice feel to it over all. Really quick action.

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:16am

Nice! It was a bit repetitive. I guess the difficulty balanced that, but it'd be nice to see some more variety for future progress :D

Alexander says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:17am

I liked the music and the graphics

Tanius says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:29am

ehehehe simple game, nice graphics

graytest says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:31am

Good music and graphics. Good challenge, although I'd have preferred to restart the room instead of the whole game every time I died. I got more difficult when the beetles entered, and was a bit annoying to have to run through the first room every time.

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:26am

I'll admit it was the music that kept me trying. XD

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:30am

The jumping is so hard. Make the game wider, so you have more vision of the scary bugs.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:11am

I got smashed. and then I played this game.

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very challenging, and I can't make out what this has to do with the theme. I think the controls are good - it feels solid and precise, and I like the that the view area *is* that limited, it makes sense from bug's eye view. Maybe. But given that it's so easy to die, it is far, far too slow to reset - die, press enter, fade out, fade in title screen, press enter to play, fade in, show "level 1" overlay again. There's just no reason to go back to the title screen. I quit after dying for the first time in level 2 and having to back to the title screen again. That's just harsh!

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:20am

Minimal graphics. Minimal screen view. Minimal sized player. Minimal number of challenging objects. Minimal title screen options. I would say there's plenty of "minimalism" going around.

May 17, 2013 @ 8:49am

Having to start over from level 1 each time I got stomped killed the game for me. :/

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:53am

Meeh.. I wish you had more focused on the high jumps of the flee.

May 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Uh, makes me itch... who makes a game like this ?!? :)

Make A Game says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:37pm

This is a cool take on the theme. Good job with keeping things simple and "minimal"!

Xeke_Death says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Man that thing can jump...! Took me a little to realise it was actually jumping, with it being quick and blending into the background a bit...

May 18, 2013 @ 3:16am

Yes. I already informed him about the color problem, but it's something he already noticed after he released it.

To the other comment, it's called a flea not flee...and it isn't a flea. Look up Springtails and you will see they can jump really high. It's entertaining.

wolf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:24am

Simple but really fun. Great job!

May 18, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Nice music!

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Work well but it's impossible to avoid the creepers on level 2 due to the speed of the game and low visibility.

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

@stqn It's not impossible to avoid the beetles, it's just really hard (maybe you meant 'impossible' figuratively?). People other than me have made it to level 3 and 4. I've only reached level 3 and I made the game.

Natedog9145 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:45am

Nice fun addicting game that will make you rage. Good game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]