April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic Dota Clone (+ Osmos)

by Finn Stokes - Jam Entry

The idea of this game was that since DotA-like games (http://www.playdota.com/,
http://blog.dota2.com/, http://na.leagueoflegends.com/, etc.) are always very complex,
it should be possible to strip out most of the complexity, producing a minimalistic
version of the core game. In order to simplify combat, we based it on the gameplay of
Osmos (http://www.hemispheregames.com/osmos/) and added a system to eventually gain
size by taking/dealing damage (replacing levelling and farming).

Installation
---------------
Windows:
Download and run the executable.

Linux/OSX:
Download the source files.
Install Python 2 (http://www.python.org/), Pygame (http://www.pygame.org/), and Twisted (http://twistedmatrix.com/).
Run main.py using python.

Both:
To play, you need two players connected over a network.
Either enter no ip address to host or enter the ip address of the host.
To connect over the internet, you will probably need to forward whichever port you host on.
To play by yourself (doesn't really work very well as then the other player does nothing so there is no challenge), simply open up two copies of the client, one as the server (no ip) and the other connecting to 127.0.0.1 (localhost).

Controls
----------
You are the grey bordered circle, and your base is the large circle with the matching ring. 'Creeps' (simple coloured circles) will spawn periodically and move towards the enemy base.

When any two circles collide, they will 'damage' each other, reducing their radius. Player characters will gradually 'heal' over time, and their maximum size increases as they deal damage.

You may move towards a point by right clicking. Move the screen with the arrow keys, or moving the mouse to the edge of the screen.

To win, destroy the enemy base.

Credits
---------
Finn Stokes
Rory Stokes
Myles Clark

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#226Innovation(Jam)3.14
#244Theme(Jam)3.35
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#332Fun(Jam)2.74
#422Audio(Jam)1.94
#426Overall(Jam)2.75
#448Mood(Jam)2.37
#453Graphics(Jam)2.50

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

No instructions on how to play this game?

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Download doesn't work for me....? It is just a blank page.

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:59am

The DNS for the website the executable was hosted on went down for a bit. Does it work now?

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:32am

I got a crash after selecting default port to host, or rather it just hung. Any ideas?

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:40am

We didn't get around to implementing any form of lobby so when you start running the server it will jut sit on a black screen until a client connects. If you want to try it out single player (won't work particularly well as there won't be much challenge), you should open up a second copy of the game and conect to 127.0.0.1 (localhost) with the default connect port (same as server) and a different listen port.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:53am

Flagged by internet explorer as potentially malicious :\

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:00am

Interesting, I just tried with IE10 and just got a warning that it wasn't a commonly downloaded program (which is not surprising as it has only been rated four times). If you would prefer, you could just download the source and follow the Linux instructions

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:19am

Looks cool from the screenshots, unfortunately I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:27am

@netmute There are instructions to run it on OS/X. I've added a download link to make it more clear.

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:30am

Sorry to see you guys are having lots of issues, but you've kind of signed up for that by making a multi-player game like this :P

I'm trying to get some friends to give a shot with me tomorrow and hopefully all works well and I can get you guys some feedback. I'm definitely intrigued by the concept so far though.

Bognet Team says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:18am

The game is unrunnable as it crashes every single time I try to host. However it looks pretty interesting as a minimalist multiplayer game and it's a shame I couldn't get it work.

Patacorow says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:22am

I tried to host but it crashed!! Really want to play this :( (you can release an update to make it playable, it's not against the rules)

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:54am

When I start it, it asks for ip and port. I let it host on 8888, then a window comes up with the title "MDC" which is not responding. Does it maybe wait for other players?

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:30am

Well done getting something multiplayer going! I got this running locally after a couple attempts (defaulting the listen port for the client to 8889 would probably be a good idea since most people will be running both the server and client on the same machine).

I only played through it on my own, but it's definitely a minimalistic MOBA. If you were able to run a public server for people to connect to it'd really simplify trying it out.

Norgg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:34am

For people trying to host and connect: it's not actually crashing when it claims the app isn't responding, it's just looping and not refreshing the GUI which confuses Windows. You then need to start a separate instance of the app for the client, connect to localhost, use 8888 for the connect port and then 8889 (or something else which isn't in use) for the listen port.

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:03am

I really wish I could connect to another host on this, but for some reason it's not letting me, it's a real shame :(.

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:40am

As people have suggested I have made some slight changes to the network connection, changing the default listen port for the client and not opening the game window until both player are connected to avoid looking like a crash. I am also working on a lobby that will make it easier for people to connect to one another (this will just forward messages from one client to another so I don't feel it breaks the rules). This should help people try out the multiplayer.

mrx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Can't get onto a game... waiting for a connection :(

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Just hangs on waiting for connection, I'm afraid.

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I have yet to work out how to add a lobby without significantly altering the game, so it needs another player to connect, either over a network or if you want to just try it out with no opponent you need to run a second copy of the client and connect to localhost (127.0.0.1) as described above. I will add this to the instructions to make it clearer, although it doesn't really play properly as there is no ai to control the opponent.

Jyrkface says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Wow! Very cool that you were able to put together multiplayer so fast!

Jorjon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:25am

A couple of issues:
- It would be cool if the camera followed you around, I mean, like DoTA games. Without minimap, you don't know where your hero is.
- You can camp the enemy spawn once you are big enough. There's nothing for her to do, except ragequit. The hero spawn should be protected in some way.
- There's no end. I destroyed enemy base and game didn't tell me I won or anything. I closed the server and the other player crashed.
- Sometimes you can go through walls.

This is a nice concept, I particularly like how you replaced money/hp/level with a single stat: size. But there are many issues that make this unenjoyable. And there's the thing it's multiplayer so you need to gather people to play this.

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Its a nice idea, but its yet too raw.

As for sugestions, Jorjon said it all.

I hope you keep developing it, since it can become something REALLY interesting!

helixwhiza says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:46am

Thanks for the feedback! I'm looking to implement some changes, which I'll upload once judging is done.
- Regarding the camera following the player, I understand you can lose your position easily however we do want for there to be the option to look elsewhere. I'm thinking of adding a function to center the camera at the player when you push/hold space.
- Spawn camping is an issue, thanks for pointing that out. I think the simplest fix is going to be moving the player spawn to inside the base itself.
- The code is theoretically there to end the game, yet it clearly isn't being triggered, so I'll have a look at it.
- In my testing I was once able to glitch into the inside of a wall, but I wasn't able to replicate it. If we continue the project, pathfinding is something I'm very interested in improving.

Would these changes solve your issues?

frogmaster says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Excellent idea! The bad thing is that the game crashes during the match, every time... It would be great to see matches 2v2 or 1 lane 1v1 (during the normal 1v1 game, every one sticks to his line and game lost its interactivity)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]