April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Engage

by danpm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Client-Server game that spawns enemies every 2min.
Share your link to play with your friends and make more points. Forgot, there was no time to implement a points...

And be advised: the game endded a little buggy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#840Theme3.24
#923Innovation2.62
#1185Overall2.48
#1201Fun2.14
#1217Graphics2.10
#1227Mood1.87
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

danpm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

PS.: There is a link in the home page to reset the server, use it if you need

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

Ervery two minutes is a little to long for testing it. But it works fine looks bretty nice... Like it. More enemys for more hectic would be nice

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Pretty neat, want to see more :) keep going with it

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:52am

Cool concept! Adding a tag to each of your ship's bullets is a nice touch :D It'd be great to see you take this further!

henrykun says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Nice concept!

Broxxar says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:34pm

The minimalist network games are great. Would love to see this go further!

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Seems like a promising start but feels very unfinished. Spiraling bullet labels did not charm me. Totally black world requiring me to find my way via text coordinate displays (to 3 decimal places??) was plenty minimalist, and sort of an interesting experience (like submarines at night?), but not really charming.

An AI came to find me but just spiraled around me. Did it shoot at me? I don't think so. Killed it all too easily.

I killed myself by outrunning my own bullets.

Traditionally, triangle-ships are pointier, so you can easily see which is the front.

The engine seems to work pretty well: I get the impression that the flying-around physics are pretty fun, though without scenery it's hard to tell. A more polished game built on this foundation might be pretty cool. Reminds me of Netrek <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netrek>

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Seems like a promising start but feels very unfinished. Spiraling bullet labels did not charm me. Totally black world requiring me to find my way via text coordinate displays (to 3 decimal places??) was plenty minimalist, and sort of an interesting experience (like submarines at night?), but not really charming.

An AI came to find me but just spiraled around me. Did it shoot at me? I don't think so. Killed it all too easily. I guess this would be more fun with other players, but possibly not a lot more.

I killed myself by outrunning my own bullets.

Traditionally, triangle-ships are pointier, so you can easily see which is the front.

The engine seems to work pretty well: I get the impression that the flying-around physics are pretty fun, though without scenery it's hard to tell. A more polished game built on this foundation might be pretty cool. Reminds me of Netrek <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netrek>

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Gah, sorry about double comment.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:42pm

The concept is pretty cool ^-^. This must have been very challenging to do in 48h. GZ

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]