April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orbfuscated

by captainkraft - Jam Entry

Orbfuscated is a game designed as a basic platformer with physics puzzles and a few added twists to create a new kind of experience.

We don't want to spoil the fun by giving you instructions or hints, so jump in and start experimenting. You won't regret it.

We took the theme, Minimalism, and kept it in mind for every aspect of the game: art, design, music, etc.

Robert Shenton (@robertshenton), Mitchell Gerrard, and Jeremiah Goerdt (@captainkraft) worked together during the Jam to create something we're really proud of.

We hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#40Innovation(Jam)3.87
#77Theme(Jam)3.87
#152Overall(Jam)3.45
#167Graphics(Jam)3.64
#226Fun(Jam)3.04
#239Audio(Jam)3.00
#243Mood(Jam)3.06
#350Humor(Jam)1.85

Comments

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46am

The movement was a bit slow and iffy - but I really liked the concept! A few improvements and it could be quite good!

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46am

Wow! That was really cool looking, and the concept was great! But the controls were kind of off, and having to wait for a reload was annoying. Also getting to the exit was weird. I was standing by the door for a good minute before I realized you had to shoot something next to it.

But overall, nice concept, great art, great effects! Hopefully with a bit of work this game will be even better!
Great job!

Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Very interesting! I had some trouble because up-arrow didn't seem to make him jump, even though left and right work - so I was stuck until I tried WASD instead. Maybe a bug?

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Clever technique, really fun. Reminds me a bit of Unfinished Swan, but slightly more sinister.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56am

@qdowngames The physics in our game could use some tweaking to have a better feel. Thanks for the comment.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

@Rose

I will have to go back and add up arrow as a jump. That is an oversight that happened when we switched from SPACE for jump to W. Thanks for pointing that out.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

@Nonameghost

Thank you for the compliments. Which controls were off for you? Also, you don't have to wait for a reload. SPACE will always reload as long as you have used at least one orb. Thanks again!

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

@bleatingheart

Thank you for the kind words. I haven't played that game, but now I might have to check it out.

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Cool game if a bit hard. Every part of this game was well done the graphics, sounds and music, and the gameplay.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

@Skulls

Wow, that's very nice of you to say. Thanks so much for playing. I'm glad you liked it.

P.S. I have a tendency to make hard games. That's how I like it :-)

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice idea and presentation, but a bit too hard to play.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00am

@ilovepixel

Thanks for the feedback and thanks for playing

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

I took me some time to understand the mechanism but once I got it the experience was really good

nimblegorilla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

I really liked your concept. I thought it was a little frustrating to have to reload the gun all the time. I thought it was neat to switch between a sticky bullet and a slippery bullet. The sound that the bullet makes when striking a platform was also cool.

devPhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

Really cool concept, Sounds and the orb's physics made me happy!

dek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30am

Great animation job. Awesome sound. got a HL2 vibe from that sound for some reason, it just felt really "in secrecy". The controls on the char felt a bit slow though. The gameplay ideas were really nice and unique to me. Nice job Mr. Kraft & Mates!

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

@Dax

Thanks for playing. We were going for an experience that forces the player to learn on their own instead of having their hand held. I hope it was still fun

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18pm

@niblegorilla

Thank you very much. We put in the reloading because it forces you to decide how you will use 3 balls instead of an infinite number. I hope you like it!

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

@devPhil

Thanks for playing man. I had some talented friends helping me with the art and sound. They are awesome

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28pm

@dek

Thank you kind sir. It was a pleasure to make.

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I had fun when I got that I could reload the weapon instead of reloading the level :p

AngryCubeDev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Game is really original never played anything like it before! fits in well with the them set. over all really good concept

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Way, this is a really interesting way to navigate through the levels. Great work!

kidevil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

Cool idea and the guy graphics looked great. Controls were the main issue.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

I really enjoyed this entry, although the level design was on the verge of being too difficult, and, as others have said, the controls could be improved a bit. I almost gave up on the moving platform level because I couldn't seem to land on the first of the stair-like platforms.

I'm a big fan of discovery-based gameplay, and I think you nailed it. Like @bleatingheart, this game reminds me of Unfinished Swan.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Pretty game and great concept. Couldn't quite get the hang of the controls (is there a limited amount of balls? Tab sounds like reload, but didn't seem to always work?) - might be because I'm stupid tired today though ;p Still, good entry! (Pix)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

Not bad! Like concept and game mechanic =)

headchant says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Cool idea. The movement really was an issue. But still good for 48 hours!

The Consul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Great graphics and sound, but the gameplay is a bit frustrating. The movement is a bit stiff and the random element to falling down wherever and whenever is aggravating.

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Looks like the controls are a common theme. We'll definitely tweak them a bit if we take the game any further. Thank you to everyone who has been rating and writing comments. You are all awesome

wy477wh173 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Really like it, but a little hud would have helped alot

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Innovative and really fun gameplay. Well done.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:46am

Great idea, shooting was a bit awkward. I wanted to be able to shot in 360 degrees and didn't really think the reloading added much to the experience. I think the idea has great potential for level design though.

Ludipe says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I liked the concept, looks like there are a lot of game where you don't see the ground (my entry included). Well done!

May 7, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Awesome intro and mood. I was stuck at first because I was using the arrow keys and up didn't jump but left and right worked so I assumed I couldn't jump. After I learned to jump I ran into other control issues. Player should be able to aim straight down. Maybe get rid of the reload mechanic or make it automatically reload if you try to shoot when out of ammo. Switching between bounce and stick seems like an unnecessary mechanic especially to start the player with. There is no indication of which you have selected. When the player is falling there is often no point of reference, you need something in the background, or maybe when he falls his hat goes flying off, anything to let you know you are falling. Aiming kind of sucks, maybe you could show the trajectory the ball will take. I had trouble figuring out how to get in the door as easy as it was. Platforming physics weren't bad but you need to make them super tight for a game like this where jumping on small hard to see platforms is commonplace.

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Really neat and fun game. Good work. :)

Nonameghost says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:15am

@CaptainKrafy I just realized I had the controls wrong. Much better now haha!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very clever. Innovative game mechanic, although it did take me a minute or two to figure out what was going on. Nice.

KEFIR says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Really nice combination of concept, graphics and audio! I hope to see full release of this.

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:41am

Cool concept. Reminds me a lot of Closure. A bit difficult, especially with a slow character, but a lot of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]