April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The One Road

by Dietrich Epp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the online playable version.

This is an RPG with: one town, one road, one dungeon, and one boss. It's a straight line to victory... or defeat.

This seems to work for me (including audio) on Chrome, IE10, Firefox, and Safari although audio playback seems laggy on Firefox. It works on my old PowerPC Mac from 2005, for crying out loud, if you don't hear audio after starting a new game try a different browser. Or don't, it's not like I'm your boss.

TOOLS: Everything is done in Javascript with no frameworks. In my timelapse, you can see me Google "how to make a simple HTML5 canvas game" about two hours into the contest. Graphics with GIMP. Music with Logic, Reason, guitar, bass, and MIDI keyboard. SFX with microphone, Amadeus, Logic, Reason, and a stick of celery.

BUGFIXES: In-battle potion formulas corrected (there's a difference between = and +=), and hitting "escape" during a battle no longer locks the game.

POST-COMPO VERSION: Armor, sword, and hit sprites were added. These sprites were created during the compo but never inserted into the game. Fixed out-of-battle potion formula.

SOURCE CODE: Everything is in "game.js".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#138Audio3.46
#198Fun3.44
#306Humor2.64
#323Overall3.41
#409Mood3.08
#452Graphics3.18
#1044Innovation2.40
#1169Theme2.76

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Haha.. cool game :)

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

That was fun! :)

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Potions are awesome! I was at 22/30hp and it gave me 73/30hp. I choose to interpret this as the shopkeeper accidentally giving me the +1 potion instead of the normal ones.

Quite charming little game, played it on Hard. Enjoyed it! Great audio!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice production! Great audio. When confronted by the red imp, I pressed escape when I wasn't doing any damage and seemed to lock the game somehow? (i.e., couldn't attack or leave). I broke it. :(

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Very fun !

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice, won on easy mode, didn't go for the hardest mode (I felt clever by then and didn't want to ruin it!)

The attack sound effects were a bit lacking and in stark contrast to the music which was good.

Good stuff :D

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

This game has a nice feel to it. I only played on easy (im a noob) but it was very enjoyable.

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice work, for a game made on a weekend!

sanojian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Great presentation. Great music. Really enjoyable!

Guardian_Bob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Escape locked the main screen for me, and I was able to hit escape during a fight leaving me with no menu. Despite that, it was fun. A solid entry.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I got jumped by two rats right at the start on easy mode and got rocked. Other than the balance issues, nice work !

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

seemed to get stuck when moving occasionally and then it just jumped around.. interesting though

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

Great fun, and the music was really catchy.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Nice game! Well Done xD

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56am

I had a lot of fun with it. The graphics were really good, and it had a wonderful feel of Chrono Trigger to it. Unfortunately, it seems like some things don't run properly in firefox, my browser of choice for linux, but that's not a big issue as I have chromium installed too.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07am

Twice the game froze on me after fighting imps, when I had the best gear and after crossing the bridge. I never heard any sound, either.
Still, it might be a browser issue for me and not a problem with the game. I enjoyed it nonetheless.

mewmew27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Cool game, sweet tunes and graphics. I had the same escape button issue other commenters mentioned, but also I noticed that when I used an item, rather than granting me 50 points HP, it brought my HP down to 50, which was a bummer at higher levels. Was it meant to do this? Started using just Elixer, so I triumphed nonetheless.

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15am

Enjoyed it. Embarrassed to admit I didn't get far on Easy.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:04am

I love those rpgs, can't stop playing!
You did a great job with this game.
Very nice music as well!

Test User says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:44am

Nice audio, I like the music. A few balance issues with the monsters, but still fun overall

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:52am

Fun! And very nice audio!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice game. More help would be cool but I liked it. Amazing that was done in pure javascript. I liked the graphics too.

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Fun !

Galvesmash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Great game!

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

Really cool. The transitions between battles and the overworld were a nice touch. I also enjoyed the shop keeper's dialogue.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:23am

Best use of Potato in the competition. :)

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Nice game!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Beat it on both easy and hard (tried impossible, got beaten badly). Hit a bug with elixir in the compo version, and it spiked by HP/MP well above their limits. Other than that, no problems and I enjoyed it .

Zim the Fox says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:09am

Hey, I wanna know what your solutions were! And there is no unorthodox solution, just creative ones (or unexpected ones. I didn't have much time to make levels, but I intentionally made them so you could solve them in different manners).

The game is an RPG boiled down to its essentials and it works great. I managed to beat the impossible difficulty (at first I thought it was seriously impossible, but once you kill the first monster and get a potion, the rest is just grinding ;P)

And potatoes! They are so OP!

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:51pm

That was fun!
Simple but all the main RPG features are here. Your game made me think about Half Minute Hero. Something similar in the mood.
Good game :)

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:00am

Very nice. RPG is always one of my favorite genre

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Heh, good game. Yay potatoes!

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:36am

Great RPG. Actually, pretty amazing for only 48hs! Congrats.

Royal Railway says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:36am

I think I saw you telling us about this on IRC before you started! What's your name there? At #ludumdare. Anyhow, this was fun. Great music, helping with a pretty nice mood. I grinded my way up to higher levels and bought everything before I went on to the boss, whose fight was fittingly minimalistic. The vendor had nice lines. Overall, one of the best so far, as for the game. As for the theme, while this was minimalism from a point of view (compared to other RPGs), I'm not 100 % sure of how well it sticks to the concept of minimalism in its own right, though, but still good. A short, solid game. One bug I found was that I was able to overload my stats from the menu (http://i.imgur.com/fQmarSi.png), but I see that was fixed in the post-compo version. The other was that when I died (post-compo), the game reloaded with me still being level 2. If that's a bug, it might have something to do with me spamming the return key as the game was reloading, to quickly pass the title screen.

TammiLion says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:43am

Fun to play. Liked the speed of playing ^^

May 6, 2013 @ 10:10am

Great! I loved the music and sounds, and I loved how you really managed to strip down the JRPG formula to its very basic core. Really, really cool!

DST says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:06am

Thanks for telling me my link was broken :)

Great game you made, having played a lot of old consoles, the graphics reminds me of something from a better (and simpler) time, the gameplay itself also works very well :)

Tifu says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Good job, completely linear RPG satirising the state of current games in the genre, maybe? %D
Seriously, nice concept, great music. It's a little easy to get to a state where only the king demon things can hurt you (on hard mode, I was level 9 with the best armour and nothing could damage me except them and the boss).

Typedeaf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:13am

Pretty neat base to build upon. How ever, it wasn't really well balanced... at all xP

May 13, 2013 @ 2:42am

Cute game with some really charming aesthetics.

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:44am

Fun and awesome I like the quick leveling system

Idovoodoo says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:33pm

That was awesome! Well done :)

rogueNoodle says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Very cool entry. I found it pretty tough even on easy, but I'm not that great at turn-based rpgs :P

Evil Cult says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:24am

Addictive! This is probably the game I spent the longest on the whole compo :) (I Played through once on hard then once on impossible). Things I might add would be a Run button and maybe a scroll of town portal.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]