April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colossal Clean-Up

by UndergroundPixel - Jam Entry

Backstory:

You are an avid hoarder. The cops are on your tail, determined to condemn your house unless you can clear out your junk in time! Visit each floor of your messy home, picking up specified items on each level and throwing them out the window, minimalizing your clutter to continue your climb. Fail to complete a floor in time and it's game over for you! Compete with your friends on the leaderboards for the highest score and don't forget to rate the game! Enjoy!

Controls:

Z: pick up item
X: throw item out window
Left/right: move
Up: jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Fun(Jam)3.90
#30Humor(Jam)3.67
#45Graphics(Jam)4.20
#45Overall(Jam)3.80
#51Innovation(Jam)3.76
#74Audio(Jam)3.66
#96Mood(Jam)3.55
#340Theme(Jam)3.10
#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

very fun :) Nice controls, music and animation work!

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:49am

Hey cool game! Really like the graphics and music and its a neat concept, bravo :)

wy477wh173 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

Liked it, quite fun and a bit frantic, but sometimes getting stuck on boxes was a bit annoying especially with the time limit.

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

Awesome game. Great music, art, and really simple but fun gameplay. Cool game, one of my favorites so far

daydalus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37am

Fun game, love the pixel art style. Gameplay was a little confusing at first - didn't realize I had to throw away the items to win. Jumping up on the door ledge to throw items away meant that I could walk out of the level pressing -> + X, which was instant game over. Also, the sound cut out second play through. Overall though, great concept and execution for the weekend!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:46am

I had a lot of fun playing this! It has a very addictive arcade feel, and both grabbing and throwing objects were satisfying to do. I was afraid of getting caught in the tumble of physics boxes, but I was always able to scoop them up and toss them behind me whenever they became trouble!
The one gripe I have is that most every time I threw a large object (chair, washing machine, couch) it would stop at the window and require pushing or finagling to dispose of. Maybe that was intentional, but it usually felt to me like I was doing things wrong.

onzephyr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:28am

Fantastic game, with an original idea. Everything felt right while playing. The visuals and sound were a perfect fit. One of the best Jam games I've played so far.

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:59am

Absolutely wowed. Graphics and music both lent to a very charming atmosphere. Only gripe is getting stuck bumping into stuff on the stairs.

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

Only suggestion would be to have the timers not stop when the stairs come down. Gives players a chance to completely clear each floor before moving on.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53am

Outstanding graphics and audio, as usual. ;)

And great use of physics -- the control feels pretty good, which is not something I usually can say about games that feature physics prominently like this.

I'd have to second what @Jrykface said regarding stairs & timers, though.

folmerkelly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52am

Aw man, great art and tight controls, love the franticness of it all.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:25am

Like the use of the theme. music and art are awesome! did you do the art? Really cool entry :)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:55am

Took me a few tries to figure out what I was supposed to be doing. I'm one of those impatient types who doesn't read instructions. It's a really nice novel concept for a game. Having the character move more slowly as more junk is picked up was a nice touch. The time constraint on some of the later levels seemed a little extreme, especially when you have to start moving bookcases that can't be thrown out the window.

orangepascal says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:17am

brilliant !! seriously, very nice :D so far the only game I come back to

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Colossal review: after having struggled to find what I had to do - mainly because I tend to avoid reading game rules - I just had fun with my now job as a "THING THROWER". Yes your entry is one of the funniest I've played too. And everything is very polished although I feel the music is a little bit repetitive.
A little "bug" : the stairs can still appear when the countdown has reached zero. Of course you can't go up. But I just wanted to report it :)
So overall this is one of the best entries I have rated so far. Hope you'll release an 'official version' :)

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Very cool videogame.
I found it difficult to understand to play at the beginning but the second game I have played I got it and it is very fun :)
Found a bug when the time was end and at the same time you finish the level, see screenshot:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/138/colosalbug.jpg/

I would clear all the objects from a floor before you are able to go up to the next at the end of the level.

And maybe it would be easy for newbie players, to understand the rules by using some arrows indicating where to drop things :)

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49pm

The game plays well. The art nice and the music fits the game theme.
The control scheme is good and feels OK.
Would be cool if you had a weight/size pickup limit. That way the X button would have more uses. That would certainly change the core gameplay a bit (timelimit), so yeah.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Who knew that chucking random crap out of windows could be so much fun? The gameplay is insanely addictive and the graphics and audio were excellent and complemented the game really well

Lemonannie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Love the concept!

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:48am

Great game. I really got into it. What a fun mechanic. Good work!

sharbelfs says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:44am

It's fun, it's very good, work nice! It's not minimalistic at all, but is a good game.

daredevildave says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice. Seems like you had a similar idea to me, though I think you executed it better!

May 3, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Great Job !
it's very fun, I like it

(147, it's pretty hard)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Everything about this is so nice!!!! :D

Congratulations!

saint11 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:08pm

I love the animations! :)

deepnight says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:11pm

An excellent entry, very fun :)
The gameplay is solid but I was really disappointed by the way you stopped the timer when then floor "contract" was completed. Imho, it is THAT element that destroyed the scoring system.

Once the contract is completed, you don't have any reason to hurry to the next stage and you just throw all furnitures out of the current floor to max out your score. Therefore, the scoring system seems very linear and lacks variability and skill factor.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:08am

I liked it.

Quick note: if you get all the items after the timer hits 0 the stairs do come down but you don't have time to climb them.

tankete says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:06am

Looks good. Plays well. Nice!

farmergnome says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:03am

Fantastic entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]