April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triangulum

by bompo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimal RTS game.

Your fighters have to reach the other side of the screen. Place your fighters on the yellow ground and they will try to stay on the same path till other enemy fighters are in their way. You have no further control over your fighters.
You can also place towers as guards which fire missiles at incoming enemy fighters.

Press F for Fullscreen mode

Made with libgdx, pixiTracker and audacity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#87Graphics3.97
#302Audio3.12
#313Theme3.79
#326Mood3.18
#372Innovation3.36
#509Overall3.21
#667Fun2.85

Comments

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08am

Very unique entry, though a little too easy. It was unclear to me what the point of the towers was, but otherwise, very good.

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13am

What one can create out of a screensaver. Really neat game, i didnt think it was too easy.

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Really cool stuff, what an amazing look!

I didn't stick with it long, but v.cool

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I loved it! Great use of Theme. Good job!

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Cool entry! The mechanics of combat don't seem very deep, but they work smoothly. The visual style is great and I think the abstract audio goes well with it. Adding a little more complexity and balance to the combat would make this truly shine. Nice job!

anjack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Beautiful game, both visually an aurally! Well done!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Cool looking game, really loved the background and the overall display of things ingame. The graphics remind me of darwinia in a way, the gameplay is a bit minimal though

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

It looked really nice, but it never felt like I could deal any damage to the enemy. Anytime I was close they would break formation and go after a blue guy that had just spawned.

Switchbreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

The look of this is really beautiful. Hexits still look super cool to me, and I love the glow and the color choices. The sound is also really nice. I wasn't able to beat the computer - and I think the energy bar is a bit overly hard to read because of the graphics style. Good job, though!

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Really neat idea. I especially liked how you went REALLY far with the "minimalism" idea to the point where even the UI is created from triangles. Fun to play, although I didn't feel like I had a lot of control.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Hmmmm... This game mixed my senses =)
Good entry, anyway ^_^

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

Triangles ftw!!! I like it because it's all made out of triangles as game models.

SuperDisk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06pm

What a weird game! I like it, however there's not much to do but spam the left side of the screen. Like texel, I couldn't figure out what towers do. Cool anyways

bompo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:14am

Thanks for the comments! The towers shoot at and attract incoming enemies. A good strategy is to place towers directly above or below your units to lure enemy fighters away from them.

robotality says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48pm

This was cool! Very ambient and fitting audio.

marnaouf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Enjoyed playing this game a lot. Also loved the graphical style and the noises the fighters made when spawned.

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:46pm

I really would've liked it if this played two or even three times faster than it does (no changes, just game speed). It'd be a pretty cool light show, and I actually think it'd increase the strategy, strangely enough. Right now (and also if sped up), there doesn't really seem to be any. As an experiment, I tried playing a round by just clicking in one spot on the left side as fast it could generate energy, and I won the game much quicker than any other strategy I had tried. I actually managed to lose, quite badly, when I tried to employ towers heavily.

But the all-glowy-triangle look is pretty awesome, really stands out as something special and minimalist, and the sounds match it perfectly. If the gameplay just gained a little depth in some way, it'd be really fun to play too.

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Just briliant and beautiful concept! And visualisation!

moomoo112 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:57am

I liked the graphics style, but it could have used difficulty levels

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:05am

Intriguing... nice mood.

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Pretty and entertaining, but shallow. Music got old fast. I could see this getting really good with more variety and control.

egos says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:48am

i like the grahic and music style but i win the game without watching the screen ......

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:01am

This game really caught my eye. It has great visuals. That said, the game itself is a little shallow as there is exactly one winning strategy and towers are pointless (a waste of valuable resources). There's no continuation or progression, though, and that would add another layer on top of an already great game.

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:19am

Very neat looking game. :)

Jonapulse says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Interesting and very good looking. Though it was difficult to figure out how it worked and what "good" decisions were.

TurboDindon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Fascinating experience!
Love atmosphere, sounds and graphics.
I lost the first time I played, but after I won all the time.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Nice style, but I'm not totally sure that I have understand the gameplay else if have win.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]