April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

My Peculiar Car

by brantkings - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A man forgets the inevitable and stand against everything and everywhere to save his only love. With water. Or maybe high fives.

The minimalism here is in the game design. I thought: maybe minimalism is use the minimum to convey the most! So why not a car that does everything with less as possible? Like handling and changing gears? There is your game!

Go for the blue dot!

So, I tried my best to make a short, good experience than a long, bloated and bad experience, because that's how I like LD games, for me. So this shouldn't take longer than a minute. If you don't lose once, that is.

Yeah, this is my first Compo game, and the music (Audacity fought bravely and won) and non-existent things like Mute Button and whatnot tell. But I tried my best, and am very happy with the results.

Most of all, have fun!

Made with: Flex + Flixel + GraphicsGale + Audacity + Paint.NET

It got featured at one of my favorite blogs: http://indiegames.com/2013/05/browser_pick_my_peculiar_car_a.html That was pretty cool.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#36Innovation4.07
#80Humor3.52
#149Fun3.53
#223Overall3.53
#261Mood3.25
#302Audio3.12
#554Graphics3.03
#863Theme3.21

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Very nice game! Congratulations!

grimpunch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice Game :)

Ysty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Great game, very stylish.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Great Idea, though I would have loved to see more tension between avoiding stuff and changing gears. Though at some point it became impossible with all those cacti/ rattlesnakes nearly taking all the lanes.

Love the use of the sax :) .

ttakamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I played your game and can tell you that I had fun with it. Really did it. Nice sound choice and also really clever to let the car goes only according to the available gear. I liked it! Good jog.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Very nice game! It's really hard to learn the best way to drive this car. And the sax makes no sense but it's fun. Congratz!!

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Took me embarassingly long to figure out how to go faster, but the funky jazz made up for it when I figured it out.

AlanBazan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Awesome car huahuahuuah
Very good game!

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

MY poor fish!!

Epic saxo guy!

Loved the idea direction + speed in the same thing (i will think deeper on it)

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

Very cool game! This car is serious business! Poor fishes...

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

It took me a while to figure out how to play, but after dying miserably trying to accelerate with the up arrow key, I finally got it.
Not so sure I understood what's with the fish instead of a simple gas tank, but that's ok... hehe
Nice work!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Great idea with the switching and the sax to it. all in all i enjoyed playing this.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Great game. I loved how shifting gears contradicted with the road obstacles. Twi dun, tu tu dun (sax impression)

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40am

I love this game. The mechanics is amazing. Congrats. 70% of te way. I think you can evolve this concept. Congrats.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Really cool idea for controls!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Very fun game. Interesting game play mechanic. I played it quite a few times before I finally made it to the end. I hope you participate in the next LD!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Great idea! Nicely done!

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:11am

I, too, remember you from the last LD, so I came to rate your game.

Great! Concept is quite original. Sometimes it seems like you'd get stuck behind a couple of cacti and the gear wouldn't let you dodge them, but other than that it was quite nice.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:52am

I liked the little gear shifting mini-game. Sometimes the cacti in the road could be a little overwhelming. 85% was my best score.

May 7, 2013 @ 4:38am

Really like how you mashup gears and direction... Nice entry. Congrats!

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:51pm

lol, nice game!

I laughed hard at the gameover screen. Didn't see it coming.

I think the intro should be made in the same level of detail as the game. Using pixelart at it raised expectations that did not relate to the actual game visuals.

My main compliment here is the parallel mechanics between driving and the gear. That was BEAUTIFUL! Great game design there.

brantkings says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:10pm

@Floko, about the intro, do you think it was good or lacking? Because I personally think it was pretty rushed.

@Everyone yep. My biggest mistake in this game was surely the two overwhelming pieces of cacti. That simply goes against the flow of the game. Well, living and learning.

Leginar says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:02am

I saw your game on indiegames.com and just had to play it. It was so much fun. Great Concept. I loved how the Gameover screen was the first clear explanation of your goal. Good work on getting your game noticed too. My plan of silently hoping indiegames reviews my game hasn't been as effective :). Good show

JigxorAndy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Very cool mechanic. It was interesting how my attention was split between the road and the gearbox. Nice work!

fermcg says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:26am

Very nice game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Wow. I am so glad cars like that don't exist! Fun game!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Gosh so many cactus... Roads are not the same anymore!
Two games in one, pretty cool concept! Also, the sound effects mysteriously gave a soul to this game... weird feeling.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Ahaha it's a very good game, it was very fun to play!
I finished in 34 seconds. :p

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

brantkings says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:38pm

@TurboDindon We have a world record, folks. Seriously, what the hell good job!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:27am

It's challenging! My fish died. I love the saxophone, it just works so well, and the premise of the game just clicks.

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:48pm

really like this game. question, are the cactus and gear change random or placed? It would be brilliant if the cactus placement and gear box patterns matched up, giving the possibility of a perfect run if gear changing was done at the right moment.

lotusgame says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:31am

A little bit repetitive.. but truly a game design lesson on how to mix two different gameplays to make a new innovative one. A must see :)

dem0 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:18pm

That was really nice idea and above all, it worked fine too!

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice concept :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:14am

Good idea for the two game mechanism in same time.

heuermh says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:31am

Still not sure why the road has cacti but not the desert.

A lot of fun regardless!

farmergnome says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:25am

What a fantastic idea, full marks for innovation and fun, I love the gear change mechanic, I would love to see a post competition version of this myself, but either way good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]