April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism - the shoot 'em up

by CiderPunk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Designed mostly for touch screens but you control it entirely through the mouse.

The story is entirely pointless and minimal, basically shoot things, get points and collect powerups to increase your fire power, it'll get progressively harder and there is no end.

In my tests the web and desktop versions ran pretty much the same (using chrome), but your results may vary, clicking top right shows fps, if its below 60 try the desktop versions. the windows is an exe created by typing random numbers into launch4j, there's also a JAR that should work on anything!

The android version is now available on google play!


Top of my wishlist of things to add are new enemies, waves, bosses and some sort of background to fight over, but i spent too long on my engine (which is now pretty good!) and getting it to compile in GWT, which it does...sort of.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#338Humor2.58
#695Graphics2.87
#711Audio2.44
#711Fun2.81
#954Overall2.79
#962Mood2.46
#1211Theme2.68
#1292Innovation1.87

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

Solid mechanics and gameplay!

There isn't much to this game, but then again; minimalism!

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15am

Updated to correct a typo, I got the month wrong! stupids am I. now to play some other games!

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Thanks! that was totally what i was going for!... kinda..

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Simple game, a bit awkward to play with a mouse though.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

Ahhh!! flying potatoes!!!
XD

good work.

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Too much gameplay...

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:18pm

The game games dull really fast, perhaps because of how strong them potatoes are

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

potatoes gonna potate yo

Qrchack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

cool entry, lacks actual gameplay though (bonuses, so on)... I managed to get 1k points lol

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

potatoes!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Poor potatoes :/

Very minimalistic shooter (unless i've missed something, but I got tired after dodging all those fries to be, the only thing I found was a shooting powerup....)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Simple and seems to be well implemented. Maybe the potatoes are a little too tough but all the same, well done.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Cool, a fellow libGdx user. Fun little shooter - you should have called it Spud Gunner though :D

GingerMess says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Shootin' da spudz. It was fun comparing progress with you Cider, good luck with your entry. :)

BenW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:41am

Neat little game. I couldn't tell if there was an end to the powerups you could get and overall the game felt a bit on the easy side but I did enjoy it.

CiderPunk says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:50am

The final gun upgrade is a 5 way blaster, there are 7 levels of upgrade,
my high score is 80,000 something :)

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:02pm

I found the controls with the mouse to be a bit hard to master. Nice use of the theme, and nod to potatoes haha :)

Docteur says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Potatoes gonna potate.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Funny game! hahaha

ohsqueezy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:22pm

That was fun! Surprisingly addictive and deep because of the high level power ups.

CiderPunk says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:13am

yay thanks!

asifmahmood says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:57am

Really liked the game ... a real time killer ... Simple and a great time killer ... good job

Zoidbergtron says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:00am

I loved this game! I thought the controls were great, as a fan of these arcade style shooters I thought this was somehow more enjoyable than most I have played on a touchscreen. Obviously you already said what needs to be improved, but this was great!

Super Hamster says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Very interesting game.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:26pm

A very fun Shmup, good job! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:50pm

So many potatoes...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:10am

42,471 -- i like the game -- tight controls

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]