April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Refracted

by Dragan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Left, right, and space to move.
1, 2, and 3 to change your color. You cannot move through objects that share a color with you.

Thanks to abundant-music.com for the awesome music generator.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#291Mood3.21
#381Innovation3.35
#416Theme3.67
#532Audio2.75
#547Graphics3.04
#778Overall2.96
#973Fun2.52
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

great colors! i loved the mood and level design

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

The idea is really cool.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49am

i liked the look a whole lot (esp once you go down from the begining), and the way the camera moves. not sure what i was supposed to do, and not sure if this is intentional but it ran unplayably slow for me =(

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

A really neat idea, although I wasn't able to get very far. After traveling down awhile I got to a sign that says "Jump", but couldn't figure out how to jump out of that area into what appeared to be another area to the right.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28am

I liked the way you used combinations of colors to block in unique ways. The camera was sluggish, making some ares difficult to follow.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:28am

Liked the concept and the game was fun as well. The music was very enjoyable.

Canobie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29am

Very cool!

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Brilliant concept, good work !

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

wonderful game. awesome concept.

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

Awesome idea, but it did run really slowly, and I'm not sure what the point of the game is.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

I also got to the place that said jump but couldn't figure out how to jump through/onto anything there without just falling back down.

May 1, 2013 @ 10:44am

Ran with about 1 FPS which made it almost unplayable, but I can tell that the general concept is very promising.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Clever and simple game idea!
Scrolling was a little slow when falling down, but that also increased the calm feeling I got from playing it.

madlee says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:41am

whoa. so, i'm not able to actually play yours because I'm on a mac, BUT.... i think we had almost the exact same concept! Even the graphics look very similar (based on your screen shot). Although, in my game, you CAN move through objects of your color (which I think is opposite of your implementation). Just thought that was funny! Good job!

Dragan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I knew I had some framerate issues, but didn't realize they were that bad.

After a bit of work, I managed to get the framerate back to where it should have been (it runs 200 times faster now.)

I'm not sure if it's technically allowed, but I uploaded the new version. Let's call it a port to the average computer.

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:07am

Pretty cool mechanic. I also got stuck at the Jump sign. :[

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:20pm

brilliant idea and graphical style - I loved it

well done

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]