April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dodge

by yokcos700 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One of many cheats: 'Colours'. 'Colors' cheat not recommended in web version. Sounds are better in Windows version.
Edit: Seriously, if you find the sounds harsh, use the Windows version is applicable or turn it down in Options.
If you have problems connecting to the website, download it from the mirror.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#188Theme3.96
#224Fun3.39
#398Overall3.32
#451Innovation3.25
#699Graphics2.86
#754Mood2.69
#761Audio2.35
#936Humor1.71

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

I like that you move on a grid, this makes it much more tactical than other "avoider" gamer

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

Fun and minimalistic game indeed. Sounds hurt my ears though.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

I really like this gameplay mechanic, the sound is a little painful tho.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

Limited dodging area was interesting. Sound hurt my ears! :) Nice B&W style. I didn't get too far, maybe 40-50 dodges. Would be cool if playfield changed sizes and started larger and got smaller over time, increasing panic.

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Brilliant little game! Love the style. I welcome the sounds after playing a bunch of silent games. They're a little harsh, but they remind me of the old beeping computer speakers. Simple gameplay, but challenging in an awesome way.

karlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:27pm

This is great. I actually really liked the sounds. My best score was only 45 dodges. It would be great if you could add a highscore table.

ToastyAbraham says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Surprising addictive

gameXcore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Fun and simple, but even int he windows version the audio was a little irritating.

katsumottojp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

The Audio is very high, kinda painful, but overall the game is very nice, very fun to play! Congratulations!

celiacjoe says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Very fun, I love this game.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Really fun! I liked the side stepping option, feels more comfortable as a dodging mechanic. The slightly music 'bullets' was really cool and made it sound like a musical number. Nice work!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

This game is fun to play and fits the theme very well. Overall great.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Hey, very good game. I like it a lot =)

Qaterknan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice little game. Fun to play, minimalistic for sure.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Pretty effective use a minimalism here :)

ceMelusine says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Super fun. I really like how intense it gets.

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:37pm

This is pretty cool, get's pretty tricky after a bit. I like the grid layout.

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:14pm

wow, this was a lot of fun - nice game!

well done sir :)

May 4, 2013 @ 7:26pm

This game is very addictive! Well done!! Also good rappresentation of the theme. The best score that i achieved so far is 29s with 50 dodge.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice little game. The audio is really terrible, it made my brain explode hahaha. Great job anyways!

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Whoa I love this game.
I love the two moving modes, I love the overall concept. I even love the sound. Dunno what people say that it hurts their ears. It was really fun and fitting.

Great work with this awesome game. Really well done.
Also 64 Dodges or so

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice one. The sound was ok on FireFox. Good job!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:57am

Got to have quick reflexes in this one. I made it up to level 3.

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:20am

Somehow I feel, it's a game about a disco dancer. Liked it!

MetroidMan347 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Ooohh, addicting! Very nice, love the music! Much fun to be had here.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:17am

Cool and minimalistic game idea =)

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:06pm

simple yet perfect idea. challenging game!

h2n0 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Pretty good game fits nicely with the theme :D

brxtr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I really like the concept; using a two-dimensional area is a clever way of expanding on the "avoid" style arcade genre. The audio really is horrible, though.

patrickward says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Nicely done. I thought the minimal playing field was clever. You need quick reflexes for this game though. I made it to 38 after a couple of tries. The sounds are a bit harsh on the web version, but I think it's just the baseline volume. Well done!

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:01am

Very good concept!!
Congratulations.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]