April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Farm Villager Quest

by therealbnut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first entry, I worked on my own. A simple text adventure RPG, with infinite procedurally generated terrain, click the buttons to make your choices.

Unfortunately I only managed to work on this for about 12 hours so some of the mechanics are lacking, my intent was to add more variety with monsters (there's currently one). Also, you cannot die, and you cannot win. I expect now that it's all coming together I could get this stuff done in a few more hours, but the linked version is the one at the time of submit.

It would have been nice to make some music too.

The minimalism comes in from the simple input and graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#261Humor2.73
#722Graphics2.82
#1069Theme2.94
#1100Innovation2.28
#1152Overall2.53
#1167Fun2.21
#1864Coolness20%

Comments

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Spy chickens!

therealbnut says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Spy chickens!?

mikeware says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Would have liked to seen this polished a bit more. Could have been a lot more fun. Got a little tired of encountering the monster everywhere and trying to determine which button would take me in which direction (would be nice if they were laid out in a compass orientation). Also, a number of typos. I hope you keep fleshing it out though, great result for the amount of time you put in.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

With more to do and more variations this could be a neat game. It reminded me of those choose your own adventure books :)

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31pm

You can make an interactive story game with it, like for touchscreen devices or something, you can think about a point click adventure as well.

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Fun small little game, some people (like me) hate to read and it could be more graphical.

basspenguin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:52am

Could use a bit of polish. Good job though!

therealbnut says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:09am

Thanks everyone for your feedback, good luck in the judging!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]