April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Wither

by Skoggy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Let me know if something doesn't work :)

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNDpmdkxiP0&feature=share&list=UULcc7MnsJVvnBRaTp1EXupw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#12Audio4.10
#23Mood4.04
#58Theme4.19
#58Overall3.90
#87Graphics3.97
#359Fun3.20
#543Innovation3.13
#594Humor2.18

Comments

Playinithard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I can't believe anyone has commented on this yet.

This is great!

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Thank you, yes I haven't had time to rate other games yet so I'm not surprised :P

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Wow! Awesome soundtrack! I like the overall feeling you've put in your game! Cheers!

mort96 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

I love the kind of magical feel of the game.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Nice graphical effect... but since your vision only goes so far, I don't see why the actual game-window had to be so much larger than what you could see. Also, at the end of each level (when it would show text) the music would abruptly pause for a second or so... you might want to look into that. Nice job with the mood and everything, anyway! :D

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Cool game, loved the ambience and the elegant presentation.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Graphically very pretty, the fade mechanic is wonderful, the soundtrack goes with it entirely. Good work.

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

The art and aesthetics in general were amazing, but I don't feel like it matched the arcade like gameplay at all.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Love the music! It sets the mood perfectly! The level fade effect is great! I agree with @Playinithard This is great!

bowlercaptain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

This is quite good. I loved the mood and the audio. The levels were a tad inconsistent - some were far too easy, and others seemed to drag on and on, and on those, dying was really frustrating.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

This is amazing. The audio fits the gameplay so well. Nicely done.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Cool little platformer.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Win8/x64. Got ludum dare logo, then all titles up to prelude, then strange L-shape floats up to the top of the window, and then just gray screen.
Nice music though .)

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Cool concept and very nice visuals and sound. It all works very well together :)

Proch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:38pm

use this concept to make a real game and take all my money!

GreyShock says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I like this game! Really nice music and mood :)

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Notes:

- Another Ruby game! Second one so far. Apparently would work on Linux? Oh well, already on Windows.
- No controls in README. Okay, let's see what's in the game.
- Arrow keys and spacebar. Right-o.
- Oooooh. I like this. Music coming in. This excels.
- Hm. The character's face gets cut off if I jump when the camera is stationary. Rendering issue? Seems like a block in the top-left of a corner near the character is clipping somehow, too.
- How far out can I go before I drop? Ah, that's nice. Would be very slow-paced if you couldn't walk on whatever was visible.
- Standing still. All blocks that are visible are uniform in color. Could've made that drop-off -- e.g., an intensity scale like, say, 1, 1.5, 2.5, 4, 5, 4, 2.5, 1.5, 1.
- Music looped. Reminds me of Torchlight 2 music somehow. Except for that The Dig-esque.. how do I describe it? Nevertheless, it is good.
- Next level: "Passageway".
- Definitely some kind of clipping going on. Will take screenshots.
- Dropped down. Thought I died for a second there.
- I think I see a baddie.
- Missed the baddie's skull. I have died. Back to the start.
- That time I totally crushed the baddie's skull. Guess you can't kill him. Moving along..
- The clipping makes it hard to see the baddie until I am far enough down.
- If I move the window, the game pushes an entire render update, fixing the clippery. Might be a GPU issue; I've been having trouble with it lately.
- I moved the window off-center and now I cannot see a thing. "Clip" appears to be just rendering in a rect in the center of the game window. Not sure what's going on here. Back to center you go.
- Next level: "Inside the walls". Triple baddies.
- A spike tried to murder me!
- Bunch of baddies.
- Next level: "Dungeon". Bunch of spikes.
- Drat. I got murdered by the baddies beneath.
- Uh-oh. A baddie has become stuck in the drop right after the beginning of this level (before the spikes). I cannot continue. He kills me every time I try to drop down.
- Wait. I just jumped into the ceiling. It doesn't seem to let me go anywhere, though. Not even back down. Now I'm done.
- Back in to screenshot this clipping business. Game does not save. Okay.
- When I take a screenshot, the window completely re-renders. I will write this off as my GPU being a jerk. Or Windows, because Windows is a jerk too.

- Any influences for the music? The Dig, perhaps?

Things I would change:

- The character sprite. Not my vibe.

Skoggy says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I am moved by all the nice comments. I did not expect this kind of response :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]