April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

#

by Kitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

# is a game about shooting squares

Move - Left Arrow, Right Arrow
Shoot - Space Bar
Change Layer - Up Arrow, Down Arrow

Made with C#/XNA
Monogame for Linux
FLStudio
Paint.net

IMPORTANT NOTE #1
If you accidentley click through the text, or if you're like me and purposefully clicked through the text, and find yourself with squares you cannot shoot, hit the UP arrow key. (or the Down Arrow Key... if that's your thing...)

IMPORTANT NOTE #2
Windows:this game was made with the XNA framework. It will require .NET 4.0 and the 4.0 XNA Redistrutable to play. The installer link will install it for you. The 'Binaries' link requires that you have the prereqs already installed. (Some folks do and prefer not to have LD games run installers).
IF you wish to download the prereqs separately...
.NET 4.0 DOWNLOAD
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=24872
XNA 4.0 Redistrutable DOWNLOAD
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914

Linux: This game was ported to linux using monogame by a guy that doesn't know what he was doing. All I can say is... it worked on mine :)

Thanks for your time!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#8Audio4.19
#24Theme4.33
#34Overall3.98
#40Mood3.90
#71Graphics4.05
#78Fun3.70
#87Innovation3.86

Comments

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52am

Very cool game, and concept. I was a bit frustrated at first with how difficult it was to single out the regrowing patterns, but once I got the weapon upgrades the game became much more satisfying. I found switching between layers a bit jarring, and thought that the screen could be a bit more zoomed in on the first levels, but overall fantastic.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58am

It's amazing !

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08am

Damn. This is an amazing game. Ridiculously addicting, I was 15 minutes in before I even realized. Definitely minimal, but very cool.

The early levels were rather simple to pass by simply holding down fire and circling all around, switching layers as necessary, but it was still fun.

Great job!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

+Audiovisually pleasing.
+Well polished.
+Fits the theme spot on.

-Needs a slowdown button (movement or time).
-Could have a few additional mechanics for keeping it interesting.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Really nice. Very musical which made it pretty enjoyable to play through although i didn't get the chance to play through it all I'm guessing it does get a lot harder. Nice job!

Baknik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Artistically, this game is beautiful. The mechanics can be a bit frustrating though.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Very cool! Loving the use of the layers, and the song being created by your actions. Well executed.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Love the explosion effect, very original, i like it, btw it seems not able to exit with ESC key, i have to press Alt+F4

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29pm

This is really great! I really liked how the sound was part of the gameplay, and the visuals fit very well. Good job!

Kitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

thanks everyone!

yeah... i realize it could have used a lot more balancing...

@hgouveia - i don't understand? why would you want to exit? but seriously... esc should kill you... which in turn allows you to go back and exit out. (i'll admit i didn't to extensive qa on this feature though...)

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Absolutely gorgeous game! Finished the game pretty quickly, would love to play more levels :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Beautiful. Your use of sound was really clever.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

Wow! Best soundtrack ever!

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very fun concept really enjoyed this one.

Great job!

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Really cool game, very appealing graphics and sound, but after a while I got a bit confused.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

I love the audio cues and visuals. The gameplay was simple and smooth. I however, would've liked everything to be a bit bigger, it was kind of small. Good job.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55am

Beautiful.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

Perfect! Awesome sound, visuals, mood, potato facts. Well done =]

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Very cool concept and fits the theme perfectly, a bit difficult though.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Don't look now, but I think our games have the same name...

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:48am

Wow. How is it that our games both consist of squares, and somehow yours look so much better?

A very nice, very well polished game. I love the sound effects, and how the fact that shooting spawns the obstacles, meaning you choose your own pace. Very clever concept, fun to play, good job!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:42am

very nice! i like this one. it's fun, and the squares make really cool patterns.

fueelin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06am

Really cool game. Interesting aiming/moving mechanic, and I liked the different layers as well. Good use of audio, you're right that there's some similar ideas with my game in that regard :)

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I loved it. The layer concept was very imaginative, and the visuals and sound fit the theme perfectly. Nice! :)

KhaoTom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:22am

Very pleasing game to play and listen.

Gungnir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:10am

Good job.

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Wow, what a beautiful game, the sound effects coming together making beautiful music! Love it! A really nice use of the theme together with music creates a really solid entry. I'm not the biggest fan of music games, but this was something different. My only gripe was that it was hard to see what layers the powerups were in, they were a little confusing. The movement of the player could do with some acceleration as well, instead of instant velocity. Would love to see you continue on this!

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:09pm

I think it's all been said already! Great interactive sound, clever use of layers, can get very frantic clearing those regenerating blocks. Well Done =]

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:44am

Amazing,it's beautiful and a cool game. If I have to find an only fault, I think it's hard to aim. It's been half an hour I play and I don't feel better than whan I have start.

Jeremias says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:22am

Very polished and fun game. The sound effects triggered by the player's actions give your game a nice atmosphere. Your tutorial is well done, too.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:35am

Shooting sound gets repetitive, could use some realtime alterations. But overall - quite nice. Was difficult to navigate at first. It was also delightful to suddenly find out that there are no power-downs, as slow bullets cause massive damage!

Jorjon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice concept, but would be better to know what powerup you are having.

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:38am

Great concept :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Great game. Extremely fits to the theme and is a fun shooter with some pieces of puzzle. Congrats!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]