April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Psydude

by iFred_QC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
WASD/ZQSD, Left click grabs objects, right click uses your selected power, 1234 to switch powers.

1: Psy-Heal: Right click to heal
2: Psy-Fire: Right click to breathe fire
3: Psy-Ice: Right click in water to create ice blocks
4: Psy-Lift: Right click to levitate

Description:
BROWSER VERSION IS HEAVY, GET WIN VERSION IF LAG IS TOO DAMN HIGH!

I would qualify that game as a Metroidvania. You gain powers and use them to finish the game.

You must exit before it's too late, before you forget your own life.

Edits:
- Reuploaded both versions and source because I forgot I commented out the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#459Innovation3.24
#512Fun3.03
#565Audio2.69
#601Graphics2.97
#674Overall3.06
#696Mood2.74
#908Humor1.78
#1087Theme2.91

Comments

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04am

Lol, at the beginning I was clueless. It got better though, nice game. :)

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Sad that GameMaker HTML5 export is so laggy. Other than that, this is a fantastic game. Took me a while to figure out i can use the mouse (i didn't RTFM), but once i got that it was a blast.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Really good game. Walls can be a bit buggy though. But I guess that's Game Maker for you

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Yeah I tried using the Box2D physics engine that's integrated. It would need a lot more tweaking to actually get a bug-free platformer, but in 48h... In short, it's not Game Maker, it's Box2D.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice game. Keys usage is not obvious sometimes.

daubers says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Enjoyable game. Fantastic graphics, good music. Jumping was a little problematic on the web version... but I suspect the Windows version is better :)

Corofides says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Was a bit hard to workout at first but otherwise it was canny neat.

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

I updated the controls to give you guys more of a clue.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

I love the psy mechanics. pretty nice game-play. but the level design could be a bit more obvious - or i´m stupid. ;)

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Great game, reminds me of the MSX

Alexander says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:35am

Cool game, could use more tutorial imo.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Had real trouble playing the web version on firefox. Worked better in Chrome

infernet89 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Is there any way to do the big jump after you opened the underwater blue door? I'm stucked here. By the way, really long gameplay, nice work for just 48hour!

iFred_QC says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43pm

infernet89, watch the playthrough if you want spoilers.

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Pretty cool puzzle mechanic for a platformer. I wanted to interact with more physics objects, shame there were so few lying around. :)

May 18, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Plays like I'm all stoned when I'm completely sober...strange...

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Great game! Excellent work on the mechanics and the level design...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]