April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RogueOut

by badlydrawnrod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the unholy offspring of Rogue and Breakout. To play, make sure that Java 6 or later is on your path, extract the zip file then run it with "run_windowed" or "run_fullscreen" as desired.

[Edit - May 3]: thanks to the awesome power of libgdx and GWT, I've added a web port. It works very well in the latest versions of both Firefox and Chrome.

[Edit - May 3]: And a quick and dirty Android port. Not really ready for prime time, but it works.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#52Humor3.67
#136Fun3.56
#212Overall3.55
#357Audio3.03
#398Mood3.10
#430Innovation3.28
#433Graphics3.21
#475Theme3.62

Comments

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

doesnt work on my os. could you port it to ms-dos 6.40? :(

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:52pm

but i do like text mode. so i really would like to play this. so ms-dos port please?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I have a CP/M port in the works but I'd have to send it to you on 8" floppy :)

gamaral says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:22pm

The Linux shell scripts didn't work for me, it ran fine using java -jar RogueOut.jar

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

This is AMAZING! Fantastic game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Had a good laugh! Lovely game!

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Awesome game! Well done :)

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Completely bonkers. Love it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Very cool. It cracked me up.

Elemnir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Loved the idea, and the gameplay works well and is enjoyable. The background track got old pretty fast though.

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I love it! So classic, but so much cooler! Very good job.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Great game! Really like the inverted mouse bit, makes it very hard!

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I love it! So classic, but so much cooler! Very good job.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I've been rating games all day and this is my favorite one so far. I know the Breakout with items dropping thing has been done before, but this still seemed really clever to me. SFX and music are on point, too!

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Pretty good game, good for a laugh! Those last few minions were awfully difficult to hit.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I'd have liked to have seen a bit more roguelike-gameplay. But still, I love the concept! Good gameplay, and I love the voice-acting. (And good text-rendering, which always makes more difference than you'd think.) Nice one!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Great concept!

lathomas64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00am

Normally pass on non-web titles but the concept drew me in, did not disappoint, nice job! Those acid blobs were really annoying though.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Hah, great idea mixing two great ideas into one. The ! that increased the speed of the @ was the one to finally end my streak :D

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I'm not a fan of text style games, but i do like how it looks, and the gameplay is comperable to a lot of other rouges.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Cool game, would love to see more levels :)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

funny stuff. I love it.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:00pm

"I have the power."

TheChris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Would have liked it to more rougelike, but really good for a breakout game.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:15pm

A splendid mashup although I have some gripes nontheless.

The paddle mechanics are a bit off. In my opinion the direction of the ball should be affected by on which side of the paddle it hits, so that controlling it becomes feasible.

Without this possible the classic breakout problem, trying to hit the last tile, becomes quite the task.

Randomized levels, as is traditional amongst Roguelikes, would have increased replayability.

The paddle and the ball don't move in the grid. What is this? The Future!

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24pm

I LOVED this game!

Although you call it a badly-drawn game, I really enjoyed the green phosphor look of it, like a classic Apple II game. It worked well with the ASCII design and was very effective.

Personally, I think that this was brilliantly innovative. It makes me think of another indie game that mixed a tetris-like mechanic with a dungeon crawler and was, to me, enormously addicting. I think that you've got a similarly brilliant combination here.

The only downsides I'd say were the sound effects, which got annoying (particularly the death screams), and how you don't have much control over the ball, making it frustrating when there are only a couple enemies remaining and you just can't maneuver the ball to hit them correctly. Breakout and Super Breakout had this problem as well, but I think Arkanoid kind of solved it.

So, my advice? See how you can expand the concept a bit more, merging more of the elements of rogue and ASCII-based RPGs with Breakout/Arkanoid-style arcade games. If you spend some time expanding the concept, I think you could have a very addicting and profitable indie game on your hands.

Once again, kudos I say!

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:26pm

The game I mentioned but forgot to name is called 10,000,000

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:03pm

@Cybearg Thanks! I think I need to try 10,000,000 - sounds like my sort of game.

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:48am

This makes me lol

Beldarak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Great game !

I don't know if you plan to improve it after the LD but it would be awesome. Let the player improve with the gold he earned after each level, differents levels, more sounds effects for the mobs,.... It would be so awesome !

It's one of the best entries I've played so far. Good job ;)

S0larCode says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Fun idea, but the player really doesn't have control over the ball because there's no distortion based upon where on the bat it intersects.

gerritg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Loved it. Plays way smoother than it looks at first ;)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:37am

Hmh... Interesting concept. I think it can become awesome when it will polished.
Good job, man!

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:00am

Hmm. The web link doesn't work and neither of the windows bat files worked. I ended up just running the jar directly. Would have liked to have been able to spend my gold and XP. Loved everything else about it though.

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Haha, I never expected to see a genre crossover like this! Very cool idea, well executed, and a variety of events to keep the game interesting. Given more time, I think the music could have been improved (the 2 second loop got a little annoying), but that wasn't much of a problem. Great work!

Diamonde says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:51am

The style is very cool, and I like the varying power-ups!
I would have like it even more if the pad could toss the ball away in different angles so that the core gameplay gets more exciting.

May 5, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Now this is something I haven't seen before! Fun idea, and very neatly executed. I like the audio, though the scream effects got a bit repetitive.

May 5, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Love the title, too.

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Ah.

Ouch. Ah Ah Ah Ouch. Ah.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Well done, Well done! Amazing use of theme.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I really enjoyed this!

swizzcheez says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Very nice work, though it's a pity you can't trap the mouse for web mode.

f7f5 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:28pm

I had to run it with java -jar RogueOut.jar
Loved the graphics and the sound effects (although the short background loop starts to get annoying after a while).
Is there any difference between levels? I also missed more control over the ball when bouncing it on the pad.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:12pm

The levels are just a bit faster. Ideally there would be more variety in monsters, and more progression in terms of difficulty. Somewhere in the code there's a "dwarf lord" whose services were never called upon.

Also, I agree about the control over the ball. I've fixed it in a post-compo version which I'll post once judging is over.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Simple, but funny idea. I think the player should be able to manipulate the direction in which he shoots. Currently, the place on which the "ball" hits just defines the speed, or not?

The web port has sound bugs (resetting the music after some seconds with a little pause). I use Firefox.

May 13, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Interesting concept combining Rogue-like tropes with a game of Breakout. I thought it was pretty fun, and enjoyed the variety of powerups. The screaming noise was really annoying, but the others weren't bad!

laaph says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:34pm

I too had to do java -jar RogueOut.jar, but I love it!

One comment, I am so used to breakout games where if you hit the ball (er, adventurer) on the side of the paddle, it changes the angle of bounce. With it being constant, I assume you can determine the order of things you will hit? (Deaths and potions not withstanding, of course)

Another comment, once potions start falling, I can collect them so fast that I have no idea what they are doing and what's going on.

But still awesome.

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Great game !

miotatsu says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:43am

nice! brings back good memories of playing Arkanoid on an Apple IIe :P

Alphonsus says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

Had fun with this game. Great work!

Orni says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:21am

loved it - the pixel based (rather than character based) movement killed the retro effect for me though

but it didn't affect the huge fun this game is. the vocal sound effects are great! and I loved reading all the stuff that happens as text messages (which did allows you to implement fancy gameplay features without having to graphically represent them) clever solution

well done :)

(P.S. I love the fact you made an android port)

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:02am

This is very cool and original. The gameplay didn`t change from Breakout though, I`d like to see some Rogue elements. Levels are repetitive, they don`t seem to gain difficulty at all. However, the design is excellent.

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:04am

nice mashup :) A tile moving pad ( instead of pixels) shoud have been perfect but maybe not the best for playability.

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Hilarious! Have to try this on my droid

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]