April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniFPX

by KhaoTom - Jam Entry

MiniFPX (minimal first person exploration)

standard FPS controls
- WASD to move, mouse to look, space to jump
- you can also use a controller
- press Escape twice to exit, once to get your mouse pointer back

Tools:
Unity3d
Ultimate FPS Camera by VisionPunk
GIMP
Fruity Studio

Jam entry because Ultimate FPS Camera is not freely available middleware.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#13Audio(Jam)4.12
#27Theme(Jam)4.17
#27Mood(Jam)3.90
#64Fun(Jam)3.57
#123Overall(Jam)3.54
#187Graphics(Jam)3.57
#215Humor(Jam)2.37
#290Innovation(Jam)2.91

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Really good sliding sensation, i don't know how you did it but it's good !

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

I enjoyed this game, I got 3 whole potatoes! I feel like the platforming was a little too slippery on angled blocks though.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

I liked the audio!

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

It took me a few minutes to notice, but I really like the notes that play when you jump on blocks. Cool stuff. Also, gotta love those secret potatoes.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:51am

Very nice! I like the relaxing music and the slidy platforms. I got stuck on the level with all the small platforms in a maze, though I may just be spatially inept.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

That was fantastic!
Great atmosphere and the controls were quite polished.
I wanted it to go on longer!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

Very calm and enjoyable game. I wonder why it switches between black and white, though? Personally, I wished it could just stay white all the time. I found it more pleasant to be jumping about in the white fog than in the gloomy black.

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

I really enjoyed it.

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23am

Very enjoyable music and gameplay.

Joritan Cety says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

Awesome! The music is really good too!

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

The controls are very slippery and the level design could use some improvement, but overall a very nice game

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Loved it. The audio really made it enjoyable!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

Simple but challenging, really good audio cues.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Really enjoyed the mechanic of having the platforms make music, made doing it so much more satisfying, I got caught in a loop and could only collect potatoes, so not sure if a proper ending, but had an interesting experience with it. Also, white fog looks nice and was easier to see through than black fog.

numpad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great thing. It felt a bit strange, because of the soft floor.
But anyway, great graphics, awesome audio and nice levels.

wccrawford says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

The middleware doesn't have to be free to join the compo. It just has to be 'publicly available.'

"All publicly available libraries and middleware are allowed."

No mention of free. They're just preventing you from unfairly stockpiling code before the competition.

magnpeas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Fun and relaxing to play. I kept getting stuck though! I think that's my own problem with direction haha

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08am

Blocks looked surprisingly nice.

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Nicely atmospheric, and a style of game I was hoping to see more of in this LD. I like how the black/white swapping makes some blocks much more easy to see making death a tool to be used. Nice one!

NiallM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:24pm

This is very nice. I love the slight acceleration downwards at the end of a jump; it gives a great sense of weight to the player.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very nicely coloured, and the audio blends in very well. Controls felt intuitive and smooth, Well Done =]

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:26am

This is fantastic work. I got 8 potatoes! :D The mood and theme of this game were perfect, right on the money. Finding secret potatoes was a blast, and the game was overall relaxing and enjoyable. Great job!

IceCliff says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:41am

Pretty nice game, but I felt like the time restriction really held you back from adding some much needed features.

Pinkerator says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:58am

Mmm... Looks like something new in "Mirror's Edge" genre!
But what for that fog all around? :)

May 14, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I enjoyed the music and sound effects, and the platforming had a great feel to it. The black fog was very difficult, and I found myself just jumping off when I had a black fog so I could go back to white. Good work!

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:03am

really nice atmosphere, great use of audio and shading.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]