April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Puzzling Composition

by whilefun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game of sonic minimalist puzzles and colors.

Instructions:
------------
Left mouse to interact. For spoilers, see DONT_README.txt in the download :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#190Fun3.45
#334Overall3.40
#455Mood3.00
#458Theme3.63
#599Innovation3.07
#663Humor2.08
#675Audio2.50
#821Graphics2.69

Comments

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

interesting concept

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Pretty easy but really fun.

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Great game, great idea, great everything. One thing I don't like is the dragging of the squares. The square drags along too slow.

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Thanks egos!

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Thanks Tobias! I want to add more levels with steeper difficulty at some point

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Thanks Kingsman142, I'm happy you liked it! I agree the dragging lag is kind of annoying. I think I have a "//TODO: tweak this" in the comments :) It was a work around for a bug that went away. I might make it user configurable or just better. Thanks for the feedback! :)

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Get's pretty hard with those timed blocks. They seem a bit too short timed in some levels.

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11pm

short and funny game, a lil bit easy though

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Grr had to turn on mouse acceleration, but i beat it in the end :)

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I like the game, the puzzle ideas and the graphics. Sadly the puzzles are a little too easy. I would like to see more and harder puzzles. Only the timing puzzles I didn't like.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Funny and minimalist aswell. Good mix !

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Very nice. Nothing groundbreaking here, but everything feels polished, intentional and well thought out. A super solid entry.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Fun little puzzle game. Loved it!

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

This is a fun concept; I liked all the different ways you were able to use it in the puzzles. It's a pretty short and easy game, but I enjoyed playing it~ It seems like the kind of game that could have a mode where you can create your own puzzles, as a suggestion.
Also, I liked the (don't)readme file :y

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23pm

The sound effects get on the nerves with time (BEEP-BOP-BEEP-BOP). Other than that, really nice concepts and good use of minimalistic graphics. Really enjoyed playing it! Also, very nice minimalistic explaination of the mechanics :)

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Thanks for playing, and your feedback Kashi! I will look into tweaking the timers or perhaps adding a difficulty setting.

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Thanks for playing tiffi! I hope to add more levels with increasing difficulty :)

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Hah, yes, sorry about that CiderPunk. That's now a couple votes for "better mouse speed!" :D Thanks for playing!

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Thanks for your feedback, loxo! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I hope to add more puzzles, and maybe keep the concentration of timed ones on the low side :)

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Thanks Masadow :)

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Thanks, JustinMullin :D

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Thanks, FREEZX! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Thanks for your feedback, Shugor! A level creator is a great idea :)

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I appreciate your feedback, fullmontis. Thanks for playing! I am glad you enjoyed it :)

May 1, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Not bad. While I didn't like the time-pressure parts that much, the rest was great although probably too easy. The whole presentation is exceptional as well - e.g. the quotation on minimalism, the marvelous menu, the game's visuals and the credits. The game may be short, but it feels much more complete than most games I've played so far.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I loved it! Concept was not too easy not too hard to grasp. I felt like some levels could be won by 'cheating' a little bit though. E.g. I wasn't sure it was the right way to pass them (especially the last one), but anyway.

I liked that the pace of the game got faster near the end. Wish there were more levels. Keep up the good work!

awppy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:36am

This was a lot of fun for a little distraction, and feels just like what a game-jam game should be. Excellent work!

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:41am

Easy to pick up, reasonably challenge and fun to play. I like puzzle/action games, and this one hit the sweet spot with me. Thanks for making this game, I had a good time playing it. If there was anything I'd do different is the controls. I'd have used the keyboard or a gamepad. we could use a key or the shoulder buttons to switch black square. But that's just me being pick on an overall great entry :).

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:48am

Really enjoyable game with a lot of charm to it. I slammed blocks a few times into the red barriers on purpose just to watch the pixelated disintegration.

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

Great game, not too hard, but the puzzles were interesting.

Alexander says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:57am

Fun, but the timing one was too hard without a mouse

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Really really really fun! I reached level 12 ! xD

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:40am

Thanks ShellfishGames! That is great feedback. I am glad you liked it

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:41am

Thanks nddrylliog! :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:41am

Thank you awppy :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:42am

You are welcome, pvwradtke! Thank you for playing, and the great feedback. Glad you liked it! Cheers :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

Thanks mattperrin! That's awesome, haha. I actually put a lot of thought into the dissolve animation (it's random, but symettric, and still blocky...I love it), so I am glad you enjoyed it too :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

Thanks for playing, kyru! :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:46am

@Alexander, what did you use to play? :| I can't imagine using a touch pad or something similar...oh dear. Thanks for playing! I am considering adding gamepad and/or basic keyboard support (or maybe porting to a touch device).

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:47am

Ah, great ramoncb! I hope you are inspired to finish the last 3 levels. The ending is super cool...I am biased of course :) Thanks for playing!

olkeencole says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:12am

Pretty fun game! I like how the different colored obstacles did slightly different things. I can definitely see how putting a few more in with different effects (slowing the square down or something like that) could lead to other interesting puzzles.

moomoo112 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:46am

I think level 11 was a bit misguided in its design since the piece were right next to the end, fun though but easy

Tifu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:40pm

A cool bunch of puzzles :D

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for playing, olkeencole! :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:46pm

That is an excellent point, moomoo112. Thanks for bringing it up. I was trying to go for a psychological trick by making the first solution "too obvious", to see if people would ignore it and complete the switch/zapper puzzle instead of the "drag 2 blocks up 32 pixels" puzzle. When replaying it, I actually avoided the obvious solution, and used the switches...so I didn't know what you were talking about. I replayed again, and saw it. Whoops! I think I should have given this a bit more thought, or made it a bit more subtle (or less subtle?) or something. Something for version 2.0 for sure. Thanks for playing, and your feedback! :)

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Thanks, Tifu! :D

DaveDobson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Nice sounds, and cool controls, both in-game and with the icon menus. The puzzles were generally very simple, which isn't bad, but it might be cool to have some levels that were harder. There was a mix of logic and mouse skills, which was neat. I like that the game had internal savepoints so you didn't have to do the whole level over if you messed up. The timed black blocks were kind of irrelevant, because you could just put them down and pick them up again, and level 11 has a trivial solution in addition to the one I think you intended. It would also be cool if the objects that behaved differently from the norm (e.g. timed blocks, timed switches) looked different initially from the others. Fun game - nice work.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Thanks for your feedback, DaveDobson! This is all great stuff. I am incorporating this and everyone else's feedback into "v2.0" that I plan to post soon. Thanks for playing! :)

Kvisle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I finished it! This is really polished - I like it a lot.
I'd like to see more mind-bending puzzles.

whilefun says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Thanks for playing Kvisle! I'm glad you finished it :)

May 9, 2013 @ 5:55pm

The puzzle design was a bit simple, but the progression of mechanics has potential.

GranaDa says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Neat idea. Nice and fun. Good job!

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:32am

nice game

a bit too easy but yeah, I had fun playing it :)

whilefun says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:47am

Thanks for playing, Christopher :)

whilefun says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:47am

Thanks GranaDa! Glad you liked it :)

whilefun says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:48am

Thanks Tsuki_Usagi :) I am glad you had fun! I've started to develop more puzzles, but have not quite got it ready yet. More complexity and difficulty are the key ingredients in the new ones.

bvanschooten says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:46pm

A well done game, and innovative in some ways too. The timing puzzles are interesting. I don't mind the gentle difficulty curve, only I'd like to see more levels like the last few. I understand that will probably take a lot of time to design though. I have one gripe, which is that some levels require a bit too much "mouse dexterity", which may be off-putting.

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:15pm

This game is fun. The puzzles are clever and they gradually get more difficult. It feels polished, well done!

whilefun says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:38am

Thanks for your feedback, bvanschooten :)

whilefun says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:39am

Thanks a lot, Purplescape :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]