April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A journey to Nightshade

by Sparrow - Jam Entry

We didn't finish in time, gonna post a post-compo version soon.

A & D - move the rudder
W - toggle sail

Red dots are where islands are located.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Graphics(Jam)2.93
#473Mood(Jam)2.26
#516Innovation(Jam)2.00
#516Theme(Jam)2.34
#556Overall(Jam)1.93
#557Fun(Jam)1.62
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

Sorry, all I get is a blank blue screen. I'm running latest Firefox & flash player on Win7 64-bit if that helps.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

Switched to chrome, works!

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

@s0ulcrusher Sorry about that still had a typo left in my code, it was trying to load an island that didn't exist. It should also work on Firefox.

Galvesmash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:19am

It's hard to know where the boat are going in the beginning, but I liked the game style! Waiting the post-compo version! :)

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:35am

Could have been cool if it was finished. I like the idea of mixing minimalism with wind waker.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I got to an island and went over it and that was my story. Good start seems like it could be interesting.

kyru says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Interesting start, would be cool to see more.

Sparrow says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Working on a post-compo version.

May 14, 2013 @ 9:05pm

seemed like i might be a cool concept... but i couldn't really figure out what i was supposed to be doing... i liked the graphical style though.. it reminded me of startropics sort of...

potatoes are nightshades...

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:07am

Interesting idea. When I got to the island, the boat kept going right over it though ;)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Amazing graphics :)

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice boat trail. But it's hard to know if the boat is moving, and there's nothing to do apparently. Also it's strange how the boat can only go up.

davidpeter says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:50pm

I didn't get to see that title screen, but I'm looking forward to the post-compo game.

kibertoad says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:09pm

slow, but looks nice.

May 19, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Looks interesting, but not a lot to do at the moment...

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:02pm

The game looks promising. I'm looking forwoard to the post-compo-version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]