April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Complexity

by RobProductions - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NON KONGREGATE WEB-PLAYER: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53757030/Complexity.html

In the great city of Minimaloria, an evil entity plans to simply things... permanently! Only you can stop it from happening...

YOU CAN CHANGE THE SENSITIVITY IN THE IN-GAME OPTIONS MENU!!!!

ADDED CHALLENGE: TOUCH THE LEAST AMOUNT OF OBJECTS IN ONE RUN! :D

If you are experiencing lag I highly recommend the downloadable standalone version as it allows you to change the quality settings to reduce lag!

Also you can decrease the clipping distance to further increase your fps! :D

Controls: (Default)
W, A, S, D - Move
Spacebar - Jump
Click - Shoot
Shift - Sprint
R - Reload
Escape - Pause

This is my 4th Ludum Dare!

Happy Hunting... and enjoy the final boss ;)

TIMELAPSE UP!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Humor2.81
#374Audio3.00
#581Fun2.96
#664Overall3.07
#770Graphics2.75
#790Innovation2.82
#816Mood2.62
#831Theme3.25
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice game, but I've struggled for some time with controls.

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

The game mechanic is an interesting one, and the final boss was expected, but hilarious xD
The problem lies on 2 things:
the the ammunitions are too few, with a recharge time too long;
the spawn points are not safe from mobs, and it often happens a death cycle of doom, with the enemy on the spawn point.

The controls are a bit tricky whan jumping, with that's a problem of mastering. I enjoyed this :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Thanks! I know there was a balancing issue but I had barely enough time to finish! :P

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I actually liked the jumping in the game. Unfortunately after the first room there was barley any and instead it was about the much inferior shooting.
I think my biggest problem was the clip size combined with the super long reloading animation which makes the combat quite tedious and enemies tend to spawn camp you, specially at the boss fight which made me give up. But I really like the ground changing color concept, shame you didn’t do more with it.
Anyway, grats on finishing it! :)

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Overall, I had fun playing this! Some thoughts:

First of all, while I understand the idea of scoring points for touching things (just as a way to innovate a scoring system), in practice it worked against the game. Or, rather, the way it was visually done worked against the game. Platforming in first person is always a bit clumsy, but since the platforms change color (often to the color of the floor) when touched, that makes them effectively invisible when viewed from above, so you not only have the clumsiness of FPS platforming, but now your platforms are invisible as well. I was beginning to get frustrated, but thankfully it turned away from the platforming parts after a while.

I assume you were going for a DOOM-like style with the enemies' shots, but while that era's games had enemies shoot bursts of energy that were slow enough you could dodge them, the shots move too quickly/there is not enough maneuvering room to properly dodge for most of this game, so it just puts you in certain death situations. Thankfully, you've very generous with checkpoints, so that helps.

The way that you used the color blue to indicate geometry that could be affected was a good visual cue, so kudos for that.

I also really liked the music.

Overall, it was enjoyable. Good work!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Love the complexity gun. Can't defeat the potato, it doesn't take damage?

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Really nice game, make more :)

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:30pm

I like the idea and the mechanics of making things more complex ^^ at some points you could snipe the enemys down, however they looked pretty terrifying, when they were near you. A crosshair would have helped a lot with aiming. All in all its a cool game.

hgouveia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice game but very frustrating!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:17pm

I forgot to mention the less things you touch the better... but I forgot to finish a lot of ideas because of the time constraint

May 1, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Also the potato can take damage if you use the interacting blue objects :P And thank you all for playing! :) Also the crosshair was left out for added difficulty :P

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:23am

Nice game! A crosshair would make it easier. Potato lord was tough but beatable.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:05am

Really needs a cross hair. Also, after beating the boss, I think a satisfying cut scene and end of the story would've been more rewarding, especially after the Potato was so annoyingly hard to beat.

But nice work on the FPS. I hope to tackle making an FPS in Unity one day.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Nice game, i like the concept! Great Job :)

Shigor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Kill the potato!

May 6, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Thank you! :D Once again cross hair was left out on purpose! :P

May 7, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Cool idea of making things more complex but it does lack a lot in execution, as it's hardly connected to the gameplay itself. For example, it's completely indifferent to the gameplay whether i choose to change a blue box into a chair or not. Also, the appeal of minimalism and the more complex models clashes a bit. Obviously both problems are sourced in the lack of time, but that's the problem of the Dare, you should always bite of as much as you can chew in 48h :)
Oh and Kudos for the sensitivity setting, I've had *SO* much problems with this in other Unity Games!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice work! So many great features, including the walls and floor changing when you touch them!

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Ohoh, crazy potato boss.^^

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

May 10, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Thanks guys!

Natedog9145 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:32am

Very neat little game! Had lots of fun and was surprised by how long it lasted. Good work ;)

vladimirdlc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Quite complex but enjoyable :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:04pm

To be honest, Rob, I think you've done better. This game just didn't work for me. The lack of crosshair kept making me miss enemies literally right in front of me. The checkpoint for the boss battle was placed right in the middle of the battle, so I could die three times in a row. The reload was just annoying. I don't know, it just wasn't fun.

P.S.- I think a good personal challenge for your next LD might be to make a game without first person platforming elements. =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]