April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cellvorsum

by AirRider3 - Jam Entry

Done in ~12h.

Goal: be the last survivor in the field. When two cells collide, the bigger one will absorb the smaller one.

Move with WASD (or Analog), and (re)start with 'R'.

Playing with a controller is veeery recommended.

It runs on a simple and ugly javascript engine I developed a while ago.

If you play an HTML5 game and you are not using Chrome, a kitten dies.

Everything was done by me except:

- The background music, which was composed by a friend of mine and me last Saturday.
- The sound effects, which are from a composer called.. Starky? (mental note: check tomorrow)
- The Xbox controller vector image, taken from http://geekdraw.com/main/2010/11/7/video-game-controller-vector-ai-resources.html
- Bazar.ttf

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Fun(Jam)3.71
#115Overall(Jam)3.57
#116Theme(Jam)3.71
#120Audio(Jam)3.45
#238Graphics(Jam)3.33
#243Mood(Jam)3.06
#337Innovation(Jam)2.76
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

Was pretty amusing!

sick says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

Cool, well executed simple idea. Kudos for gamepad support!

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00am

Osmos style gameplay in a rather neat theme, controls were a bit sensitive tho.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

Great style and cool audio, though gameplay feels a lot like games I've played before (Osmos springs to mind, though I'm sure there are others). The gravity/mass element is a nice touch, but it means the game gets hard very fast after the first level - I'd lost the third level within seconds because all the little bits got eaten up before I could reach them!

That said, it's hard not to enjoy something so well presented. Nice job!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

Good idea, and well executed.

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23am

Nice one! I enjoyed playing it. As Hadyn said, it get a bit frustrating after a while, but overall a great game with cool colors and style. Thanks!

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

Thanks for your comments, I really appreciate them! :)

@mchaza: I agree with you, if you play using 'WASD' it gets a bit hardcore. Playing with a gamepad is much easier, the analog lets you control the thrust and it feels quite natural. (at least to me)

@Hadyn: Yeah, sadly it's quite an exploited mechanic. The game evolved in different ways. In the beginning, I created a prototype of an 'universe'. Even in the actual version, every 'cell/planet' is attracted to each other using Newton's law of universal gravitation.

After having the universe model complete, I was not very sure how to follow. I started working at 23.30 PM Sunday, so I couldn't make something very difficult to code either. I was thinking about a space shooter, in which the ships were affected by the gravity of the planets, and you had to escape from other ships/destroy them, collect some floating cargo... (I might make that game on my free time, seems it seems fun). Or a racing game in which you have to race through checkpoints.

I ended up with this game though. I tried to polish it as much as possible, adding sound effects, improving the design, adding the gamepad support. I'm actually pretty satisfied with the results, since it's my first solo game with gamepad support, and using html5!

About the levels, I did have planned to make them harder and harder, and giving a name to each of them. It might be disappointing to know that each level is as hard as the rest. Thanks for your comment! :)

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43am

For some reason I wasn't getting any music on Web version.

But I like it!

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48am

@BloatedHippo: Thanks! A friend of mine doesn't get any sound either when playing it on Linux using.. ¿Chromium?. I guess I'm not using a completely cross-browser/platform solution for the music. :/

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21am

Nice game! Love the trail-effects and the graviotional pull of the object.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

Haha, the placebo effect... I could have sworn it was getting harder ;)

I'm impressed by the tech! I hadn't actually noticed it was all html5 - I just assumed it was Flash for some reason. And yeah, nice job getting gamepad support in - it was nice to take a break from mouse and keyboard to sit back with my 360 pad for a bit =]

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice game! kind of like a minimalistic version of Osmos. I likes this kind of games. Sometimes when I restarted I lose right away because there was a ball next to me.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Really cool, reminded of osmosis except 100% easier to control. Really nice to play nice job

Tamik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Nice bit of fun, and i want that music. Controls took a few rounds of figuring, but worked nicely when you realized how things moved.

albertnez says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:35am

Cool game, full of fun. I also loved the blur effect ;)

terrivellmann says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Cool! Fits the theme really well

davidwparker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Cool music- extremely fast pace. Kind of osmos-like.

Siewart says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:27am

Could use a little better movement indication (a full white bg doesn't give you an idication of your speed) and a little less blur would also be awesome.

Besides that a very well executed game!

JohnPilot says ...
Mar 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Cool game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]