April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

NoBility

by GFM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NoBility (as is No aBility... don't ask... time was short) is a game about solving puzzles with only the necessary skills. That is, if the puzzle requires jumping, you'll only be able to jump! (but moving is always enabled)
Things should get complicated when you must decide which ability will be more usefull to make the next step.

Controls:
Arrows to move
'x' to jump

Er...

The game is far from complete... I didn't expect puzzles to be so hard to design (I knew it would be, but still...). xD
Think of this as a demo. You get the basics of the gameplay there.

The absence of stage 6 is intentional... I couldn't fix a bug and there was no time to remove it completely... so I just set the game to skip it. =X

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#259Audio3.20
#458Fun3.09
#487Humor2.32
#623Graphics2.94
#651Mood2.78
#717Overall3.02
#721Innovation2.92
#1143Theme2.82

Comments

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

there is bug on 7 stage. can't see the character

Stiju says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I would love to see a bigger version of this, more levels, more abilities and more puzzles.

@gmaker, press space to remove the text popup and you will be able to see your character.

Skye says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

This is the best I've played yet. A little short but that's understandable. I'd love to see this game expanded.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

@Stiju Thanks for commenting. :)
I failed at managing well my time, so I wasn't able to make more levels... =/
But I'll make a postcompo version! =D
(And I'll also fix the window, to avoid it from being in front of the player xD)

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

In stage 7 and 8, the text window covers important parts of the level!

It was pretty fun, could do pretty well with a little more work.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Solid little platformer :) I liked the animations and the sound, too. Nice job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I can't run this would love to though.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Solid! Not sure it needed the text, I found it clogged the game up a little and didn't really contribute to the mood.

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

Thanks for all the comments.

@killerstarbunny
Why is that? You haven't got flash? Afaik, flash can be play on any of the major OSs.

@ataxkt
Well, I can't completly disagree... but I needed some way to tell the controls, and I've learned that no one read instructions... xD
So I decided to do it through a narrator and ended adding a backstory (kinda).
At least, I've already fixed it's position (and made it's alpha=0.75%) for the postcompo. =D

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Short and really enjoyable, I liked the background music.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

I liked the concept, but the text was so horribly slow and obstructive that I stopped playing after a few levels.

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

I liked the music and sound and smoothness. A tad annoying that the dialogue box cut off my character at the top of the screen though.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

like the core mechanic of picking up abilities. Had issue where the help text would often cover the character, took me awhile to realize where i was.

Skulls says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:07am

I was left wanting more good job.

stefan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

This is one of the best game I played here so far. Its a bit short and sometimes one can't see the character when the level begin, but its really nice work.

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Definitely would like to see where the game was going after the last stage - you did a good job setting up the mechanic, and I wanted to try it out!

What was here, however, had some nice polish (I like the dust you kick up especially).

JimmyLord says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Neat idea and well put together, I'd definitely play more levels.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:08am

The text was moving way too slowly, but other than that it's a solid little platformer.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Could use some polish but I like the music and gameplay. Good job!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Loved the music and art style... sad I couldn't get past level 7.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Not to be a grammar Nazi, but on stage 2 when the dialogue says "and was able to..." I think it should be "were able to..."

As for the actual game, it's solid. Polished gameplay and a fun mechanic, although I misunderstood it at first and thought that I'd literally only be able to jump/move/perform one specific action per stage. The graphics did their job well, and the music was fitting. Just add some more levels, traps, and abilities and you'll have yourself a fine little platformer. :)

CAukamp says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice machanic. I liked the switching of the abilities.

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:40am

I like the swap abilities idea, may lead to some interesting puzzles. Often times though I just die randomly after respawn at the end of the dialog, might have been because I was pressing the arrow keys randomly.

Misfit says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice one. Small game which provides good playability. Good job!

ovenchips says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice entry. I love the music you composed - great! If only you had more time - would have loved to play more levels. Some interesting play mechanics in there!

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Would definitely love to see more levels and the only one ability mechanic was pretty cool.

May 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

I liked this game. I didn't like the textbox in the way, or the fact that it played it's text slowly sometimes. The sounds were quaint, the deaths were nice and jittery, the jumping was smooth, the running was nice, the level buttons were cool, and the music was hip. gj!

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Nice game but the text box prevented me from playing level 8 (it hides the top part of the level and was still slowly displaying the help for previous levels when I got there) and the audio loop is way too short, which becomes annoying quickly. Apart from that I have nothing to complain about, it's playable and with some more/bigger levels it could be pretty fun.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:48am

Good Mechanics, Nice music and cool graphics :)

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]