April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Just Because

by bigbazwa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wanted to reduce Just Cause 2 to what I consider to be its most essential element: blowing up water towers for no good reason.

Destroy all the water towers to win the game. Your health will regenerate slowly. Shooting your gun and blowing up water towers will increase your "heat", which will result in more enemies showing up to stop you. Hide away for a bit and your heat level will go down.

Controls:
WASD/Arrow Keys - Move
Spacebar - Jump
Move Mouse - Aim
Left Click - Shoot
Right Click - Grappling Hook

Hints/Tips:
-Use your grappling hook to quickly escape when overwhelmed with enemies.
-Enemies will help blow up water towers if they get in the way of shooting you.
-Perhaps what you are looking for lies beyond the ends of the world...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#153Humor3.09
#190Fun3.45
#223Overall3.53
#328Audio3.08
#497Graphics3.11
#668Mood2.76
#702Theme3.39
#836Innovation2.76

Comments

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Approaching first tower "this is easy", all of a sudden "bullet hell!". Neat little game.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Very fun, serious bullet hell after a while though!

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Ver cool, it was quite hard! I like the way it was done but i think there was a few to many enemies!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

It's a lot of fun when a bunch of enemies dashes towards you and you can use your grappling hook to evade :) You actually caught that part of just cause 2 pretty well I think. Well done :) Very nice music.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Great, but difficult game. :) Good work

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

More enemies please. Make me panic! :)

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Well done. Tight controls fun mechanics.
Grappling hook is the best.
Beat the game with 27590.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice. I liked the fast paced gameplay. I could never complete it though because after a while there are so many enemies.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Holy crap, so many bullets. Anyway it was a pretty fun game. My only complaint is there isn't anyway stimulus to being so I feel like the bullets aren't doing anything and before I know it I'm dead

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Great game! the enemy AI tends to get stuck in the water

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I like your approach to the minimalism theme, and you did a pretty good job capturing the core essence of JC2 :)

TriBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I like the look. I feel you have a few too many mechanics going on at once here - dropping one or two and laser focusing on the others would have made a better game IMO. I had fun though!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09pm

So good, I thought I was actually playing Just Cause 2.

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Wow dude! I managed to get all the towers, and it was pretty awesome! Now I'm jealous :/

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Probably goes a bit over the top with the enemy spawn rate but its a totally impressive amount of work for a 48h jam. Well done. Lots of fun.

bigbazwa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Thanks for playing everyone! Glad you are enjoying it.

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I love Just Cause 2 also and when I read your trying to strip that down in 2 days I thought pffttt, but man that is just what you did. Really funny how similar the pace is and lots of fun kudos. I was able to rangle 20 enemies into a group at a time http://img9.imageshack.us/img9/8681/b8acacc838a748079adec60.png

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:58pm

The music is great and reminds me of James Bond.

Actually, the whole game does. That is if James Bond destroyed water towers.

Clavus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Fun concept. Pretty straightforward game.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Fun shooter!

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:04am

Not bad at all! A lot of stuff for so little time! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]