April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nod

by Rose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A cute girl has a question to ask you! But you're a little shy... can you win her affection anyway?

- There's just one form of input: Click anywhere or press any key to nod.
- There are 4 possible endings, including one where you get a date.
- Stuck? Note that nodding emphatically sometimes has different effect than just one nod.

I had very little time this weekend, so I coded this in about 8 hours and created the dialogue/art in about 4. I wish I could have made the story more complex!

Spoiler alert! Don't look at this until after you play: if you're interested in the XML I used for the dialogue, you can check it out here: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/53970005/LD26/script.xml

(Update: I've just fixed the little bug which was causing the cursor to disappear.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#80Humor3.52
#82Innovation3.87
#91Graphics3.95
#148Theme4.02
#244Mood3.29
#293Overall3.44
#526Fun3.02
#1043Audio1.49

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Add Heavy metal and this becomes a headbanging sim

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

I thought this was pretty amusing. Nice job!

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01am

Agree with Jack. I like the art.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:05am

That is a cool way to do dialog!

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

Loved the approach and art. Audio would have helped a ton, also maybe a end screen instead of just looping.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

looks, great, plays great, fits the theme. what more could you ask for. really impressive how much you can communicate with a simple head nod.

Maple says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

I got all 4 endings. I was under the impression that nodding a couple of times had a different effect, and that turned out to be the case.

I'm not sure if it's just my computer or something, but I felt like the game was running a little slow. She was talking slowly, and I wanted to be able to nod faster. There could have been more delay between speech to give me the chance to decide to nod or not too. Other than these things, I want to compliment the method of communication. Simply nodding or something is awesome. I can see such communication being used in a platform adventure or something where you jump up and down to show you understand or whatever when someone is talking to you. Actually just thinking about that reminds me of the communication in Journey, lol.

Good job.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

Very unique take on the theme - an input mechanism that depends both on timing, repetitiveness, and whether you use it at all. Made a lot more sense when I read through the script! Very cool.

mtrc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

This is a hilarious idea. CAn't wait to get home and play it.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

This is beyond hilarious. I never knew nodding was so effective. I'll go practice right now.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

This is a really interesting idea, but it was much more clear after reading the XML provided.
Would also be good if she talked faster, but nonetheless it was still fun to play, fun stuff :)

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

This is a really cool idea. Would have been nice with some audio. Art is good.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Funny, I liked it. Great idea. She didn't seem to mind that I was constantly liking. I WAS ROLE-PLAYING A SEIZURE! I COULD HAVE FICTIONALLY DIED!

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Haha, excellent concept. I'm disappointed I couldn't freak her out by nodding continuously like one of those toy dogs that sit in the back windows of cars.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I am looking forward to the Kinect version where you the player controls your character by nodding!

raarlac says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Very original! I wish it was longer

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Absolutely brilliant. Gave 5 stars in 5 categories.

zatyka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Great style and use of theme. My only complaint is that the text speed was just a bit too slow. It took me a while to get all the endings, but it was worth it. Overall, very impressed.

Awennor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I like it, but maybe it would've been much better with more feedback, maybe more immediate facial feedback when you do something right or wrong.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Oh. I was distracted IRL and just pushed the button while I was not looking at the monitor so he just nods (hey, that works in real life!), and it was working just fine, but when I looked back at the monitor he was already telling her she's silly (that happens in real life too). Oh, okay.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Great idea! I like the simple but nice graphics.

The mouse cursor is hidden, so I couldn't use the restart button.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

That is really cool, very simple but very good for what it has.

aduros says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very cute idea!

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Really liked your approach. The art is really beautiful!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Nicely done! Beautiful art, and great take on the minimalism game-play! Took me forever to figure out how to get a date though!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

.oO( Hm, I have to tell her how I feel about the game )

*nod* *pause* *nod* *nod* *pause* *nod*

ddionisio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

*nod* *2 thumbs up*

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

*nod*

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very metal.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Cute! The emphatic nodding option is a nice touch.

SeanAtr0n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Weew! Gots me a date :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Ha, this is great :D

If only life were as simple.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I loved this, really nice idea!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

I couldn't get the date! It's too realistic!
Very clever use of minimalism.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I like the concept, simple and effective. And funny, too.

Oh, and by the way, thank you to have point a big bug in my entry. :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I really enjoyed this game, the art is wonderful!

JAH2488 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:15am

Awesome concept

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:12am

Awesome. After a couple times through, here I am thinking I'm SO smart, just nodding like a madman...the "no" question is a nice touch. =)

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:20pm

...

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

It works like a charm. Probably one of the best take I saw on this theme :)
You totally manager to make a great one-button gameplay with natural feelings and nice profoundness.
Well done!

Yakka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very inspiring and interesting.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

This is a great idea that was well executed. It fits the theme perfectly, showing how a simple head motion can be used to communicate so much. The whole situation is quite humorous too; I can relate to it. Excellent job.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Funny idea. The graphic style is really nice.

paulmcgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Fantastic concept and although it's only very short the interaction feels really genuine because of the difference you can make in outcomes which isn't that common to such a granular level. Some sound would go a long way, but I really loved this.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:57am

Typical woman. You're tuning out and nodding and agreeing then she tosses in something like "do you think I'm being silly?". Busted. Funny, interesting entry.

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Great way to approach the theme! Nice art, good idea, flawless execution.

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:39am

Cute game! The pacing was a little slow, so it was a little hard for me to focus on actually playing while she was droning on. I think the nodding mechanic was a really cute take on the theme though, and I think the art you made was great. Wonderful work, Rose! :)

zkenshin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Liked the simplicity and the art. :)

McFunkypants says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Such a great idea. Smile and nod: great life advice.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:03am

8 hours! Very nice!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very good. I like how the girl's facial expression changes according to your response (or lack thereof).

Taro Omiya says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:01am

This is spectacular in every way! How do you make Visual Novels fun? Make it a quick-time event! Brilliant!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Reading when is appropriate to nod interested me. If you continue to develop this, I was hoping to feel a little more active. It seemed the girl had already made up her mind and I was passively following along.

Jod says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:20pm

I rather enjoyed this one. Got her to date me, yay!

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice!

May 13, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Quite amusing. I'd like to see what else you could do with this given more time.

Ryusui says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:55am

Clever concept. I'd love to see it fleshed out more.

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Cewl idea and cewl graphics :)

goerp says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

The art and input is very minimal indeed.
The art is also pretty and you dont need more input. It was well done all the nuances you can do with just some nods.
that I think for 8 hours you did a lot. I'm curious what you could have done with even more time.

I saw this game in a gameplay video with 290 LD games and I had to check it out (especially because I had an idea like this one but decided to do something different).

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Brilliant idea!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Haha, funny. Nice concept, although it felt like it was missing some polish here and there.

I admit, I cheated and looked at the XML. Sue me. I wanted my date.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Cool idea. Very simple, but deep. I wanna play more, actually, but I liked. Congrats!!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]