April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bliss

by fakeyou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bliss by Andre Nanninga.

Bliss is minimalist game about enjoying the waves of the ocean.

In reality I ran out of time and wasn't able to work in a goal or win scenario. Now it's just a simulation of blissful sailing which turned out quite nice in itself.

I made this with THREE.js and javascript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#200Graphics3.67
#404Mood3.09
#908Fun2.60
#1072Innovation2.33
#1219Overall2.41
#1250Theme2.59
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:56am

The water and the model are a cool style. Very fitting.

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

great simulation, love the graphics

please use that for some game you might do in the future - I'd love to play it :)

Maybe a multiplayer canon ship deathmatch ?

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

Very cool, although there isn't really a goal or anything

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I love the graphics style

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Aw feels so nice, I wish there was more

maxogden says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

love the feel! p.s. is your code distributed with any license like MIT or BSD?

shama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Relaxing :)

fakeyou says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

@maxogden no license or anything, just use it however you want.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

The water simulation is great with a really appealing art style. Would have loved to play a game scenario built on this. Nicely done!

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:46am

i liked the feel of sailing =). it crashed when i hit the edge of the world though =(. would like to see this game with the same basic sailing and a larger world.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

It was very enjoyable to just sail around.

I would have also liked a bigger sea to roam around in, maybe some kid of infinite procedural generation deal?

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Good potential, and nice graphics. :)

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Not really a game, but the base mechanics have potential for something.

DaveDobson says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:02am

Very cool-looking, and it's really fun to drive the boat around. I wish there were more game to it - I think it's a great start. The water effects, in particular, are great.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I like the wave physics! fun!

johnste says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:58am

Can't download the source for this, I get a 404 error.

It's pretty. A shame it never became something more than an experiment.

May 8, 2013 @ 7:49am

The feel of the boat on the waves is fantastic. I wish there was some boundless ocean I could sail through.

fakeyou says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:36pm

@johnste I fixed the source link. http://www.andrenanninga.nl/projects/ludum/26/minimalism.rar you can get it here.

lotusgame says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:28am

Excellent start :) It makes me want to see more !!!

Tifu says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:23pm

First thing I did was try to get myself stuck on an island. I WIN! :D (can still move though somehow)
Waves look really cool!

Beldarak says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:02pm

The link to the web player seems to be dead

fakeyou says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:25pm

@beldarak thanks for the heads up. It's back up now :)

nuprahtor says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Awwww, cute little ship :3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]