April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OBASS (one-button-automatic-sidescrolling-shooter)

by naughtyloose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to OBASS. Short for one-button-automatic-sidescrolling-shooter. You've been given control over the vertical thruster of our research drone. Here's a easy step by step guide to success with your OBASS drone:

1. Reach the end of the level.
2. Press Space to fly up.
3. Avoid the walls.
4. Avoid the enemies.
5. Collect power-ups to enhance your OBASS drone.
6. ...
7. Profit?

In total there are 4 levels with the last level being randomly generated which also makes it the most difficult one because I neither had time to properly balance it nor was I able to fly trough it. Can you? I'm sure you can! Because anything is possible when you fly an OBASS drone.

Enjoy.

Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oc3LJ-ZfsAI

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#255Graphics3.53
#300Fun3.27
#309Mood3.19
#390Overall3.33
#483Theme3.61
#855Innovation2.73
#957Humor1.68
#1057Audio1.42

Comments

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

Love the mood and simple controls. The level with the rotating cubes is quite a steep increase in difficulty... really hard :)

kryger says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Cool and stylishly minimalistic game.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Great example of one-switch game accessibility. Well done! :)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Brilliant! Really enjoyed this!

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Great sense of esthetics. Thought it just gonna be a simple game, but the powerups added a great range of dynamics, especially in the last level as combines evading with dogfighting.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27pm

This is cool! Perhaps the controls are a bit floaty though, I died a few times when I had too much velocity couldnt see there was a wall above me.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Thank you for making a straightforward game where I don't have to read your mind or remember 7 controls. Really enjoyed it, polish this up and release as a $0.99 mobile game. :)

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

This has got a great feel to it! Really grew on you without overloading. Nicely designed. A bit sluggish control.

Daisuke909 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Really cool looking... but isn't it basically just "helicopter game?"

atlantian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Really enjoyed this, loved the look. I think some sound could of made it more immersive.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Yes it basically is, but with enemys, guns, power-ups and more on screen mayhem ;)

eteeski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

i love cave games and this was was a great reinvention of the genre. i loved that almost all the models were cubes and that you did so much with the cubes to make the look different. all the upgrades were really fun. awesome style. i just wish there was some audio of some kind. it's really really quiet. maybe if the camera was pointing more at a forward angle so that you can see ahead of you more, that'd be cool. overall though, really cool.

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice and simple, but looks great. It is definitely a "just one more go" type of game.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really enjoyed this one. And loved the look. Great job.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Really like the visual style! It really demonstrates how you man make a cool concept out of simple controls. A cool soundtrack will create an excellent mood.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

This is the most fleshed out attempt on the one button flyer genere I've seen (is that a genre?) Good work.

But, as no fault of your execution, I think you've shown that there just isn't much gameplay to be found in the one button flyer. The enemies added tension but were also just frustrating because I had no real way to evade them... I could only soak up their damage. The turrets also added tension but they couldn't hit me anyway (and if they could then they would have been insane resource sponges.) The only resource I really have is the shield and even the most expert flying really has no effect on that resource's consumption (though expert flying does GET me more shield.)

The visuals are quite good. You really executed this well. I'm impressed. Take my comments as "you dug a fantastic mine... unfortunately there's no gold here."

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

This is truly a classic type of game, nicely executed and the graphics are great. I love the depth of field.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

More upgrades would do better, but it's good as it is. Controls are smooth, gameplay is interesting and well balanced... To say, a small but very polished game.

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Great challenge ramp, not a big fan of this type of game but liked what you did with it.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27pm

Very nice. i enjoyed playing this a lot. the idea with the guns was pretty cool

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Nice take on the infinite cave game. Perfect controls. The first level felt a bit boring, kind of useless, but it gets better from level 2.

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:24am

Clever and addictive. I kept beating my head against the level with the rotating cubes. Who would have thought a one-button game could be so...stylish?

davidB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:47am

nice, addtictive

WiseGAMER says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:52am

Very nice game I loved how simple controls make this game more creative and the power ups system is creative! Good job!

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Helicopter game with an auto-cannon! Nice idea.
Loved the visuals, could have done with some sounds to really give it some atmosphere though.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Nice implementation. I particularly like the particles. No sound on Chrome/Windows7. Nice camera/blocks views.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Stylishly and minimalistic, you got the theme! I really missed some sounds, it would totally aid the game.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:05am

That the last level was randomly generated bugged me a little as it was VERY hard. The rest of the game was really good, and I especially appreciated the lighting effects. Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Super fluid gameplay and awesome level design. The art is top-shelf!

SamoojaMies says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:04am

I like the minimalistic graphical style. quite fun also

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]