April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trapped

by Hopps - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't have much time on the weekend, so this is a short little Twine game.

[Edit 1]
Monday Apr. 29: I updated some minor typos and removed the share-bar as it doesn't work. You can still play the original version if you wish (It's linked on my website!)
[Edit 2]
I added a post-compo version which is a bit longer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#496Humor2.31
#758Mood2.68
#1060Fun2.39
#1105Theme2.88
#1143Overall2.55
#1238Innovation2.04

Comments

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Really enjoyed this interactive fiction. Set a nice mood. Was surprising how much you were able to do with twine. More than just a choose your own adventure.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Pretty nicely built.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47am

I like seeing Twine do interesting things - some neat ideas here.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02am

Nice to see different types of games like this! The riddle made me laugh :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16pm

I liked it. People are learning to do some great things with Twine and it is good to see that.

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Oh cool, I liked the narrative :) Fun and interesting!

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

The riddle was cute, and the interaction with the other character was also amusing. I could have done without the maze part, personally - didn't think it added much to the experience.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Solid text adventure. Not my type of game but the presentation fits the theme ;).

May 2, 2013 @ 6:19am

Made it out! ^_^ Reminds me of the text adventures of yore...

dualtagh says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Cool game, nice to see a Twine game making good use out of vars!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Oh I managed to feel the sun again.
Halfway I even stumbled upon a man with a bag of potatoes. Hah!

That was nice.

May 4, 2013 @ 9:18am

A text adventure! Glad to finally see one of these. If I could critique it a bit I felt that it lacked real choice - most options led to dead ends, leading the player ultimately down a linear path.

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:27am

Whee, escaped! I never trusted that old man.

May 8, 2013 @ 8:37am

I like how you managed to create actual puzzles in Twine, something I'm not very good at. (I like the additional puzzle content in the post-compo version, too.) On the downside, the plot is rather run-of-the-mill, and the writing is very sparse and has some typoes. Still, nice use of puzzles in an interactive story.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]