April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Dungeon

by texel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a raw HTML5 + JS + SoundManager 2 game -- no frameworks were used here at all. You'll need flash enabled (not blocked) for it to work. Also, I've tested in Chrome, Firefox, and IE10.

The game was written entirely in XHTML and JavaScript, with the singular exception of the use of SoundManager2 for playing audio. The source is available by simply "viewing source" and following the URL to the JS source file. All code, graphics, sound, and music is written by me, save for SoundManager2.

Watch for potatoes, especially in the second level. They usually hint at something funny about the walls.

The second level can be a little bit tough for some -- make sure you don't open any doors that would provide dubious gains!

The walls hold secrets -- don't trust them!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#61Fun3.75
#110Overall3.75
#131Humor3.18
#149Audio3.43
#151Graphics3.77
#156Mood3.48
#428Theme3.66
#898Innovation2.66

Comments

ryuurei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42am

That was a pretty enjoyable little game. Wish I'd thought of potato references. That was a nice touch.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22am

The text cuts off the side of the screen, so it's hard to see some of the comments :(

Nice game :)

ned366 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

This was a fun game. It took me a couple of times to figure all the puzzle elements. Great job! Its cool that you just used JavaScript and HTML. SoundManager is a good solution for HTML audio. Seriously why is HTML audio so lacking in major browsers? I digress, Really liked the minimal use of color. and the Potato reference made me laugh. Overall I had a blast. Thanks for submitting!

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

Awesome! I was searching for my own entry, and found that you had the same name as mine :P

Really enjoyed it -- felt like an old game.

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Yeah, sadly, <canvas> doesn't give you font metrics, so I had to guess. Sorry about that -- try playing with a larger browser window?

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

Well done. Reminds me of an old game for MS-Dos that was kinda similar. Can't remember the name off the top of my head anymore.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:35am

It's a shame there wasn't any way that I knew of to restart the game from the same level if you died without refreshing the entire page and walking through everything again. +1 for using potato references, was pretty fun overall :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36am

Love the graphics.. except for the text and colored boxes at the top.. they didn't really fit the style...

Cool game anyway! ^^

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

Very nice game! feels very smooth, could not find out how to get past the 2nd level tho, used the shiv to kill the monster but could not get the key behind the two potatoes

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

That was pretty amazing. I really liked the interesting graphical style, and the puzzles were fun to solve. I ended up going back a second time to get all the potatoes. Great job for such a short period of development time.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

Like your graphics, try to learn more from your code.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Fun! Love the visual style. Could use more hints and information either here or in-game

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45am

Updated the description with a couple of hints. I can't update the game with additional scrolls due to contest rules, so that'll have to do. =op

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32pm

A solid entry. I liked the low-res scanline effect and, while the gameplay was nothing majorly ground-breakingly innovative, it worked nicely. I didn't get all the potatoes. :C

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

This is awesome. It has been a long time since I have played a top view 2D puzzle/action game. Loved the way to defeat enemies.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

Nice game, enjoyed the art and liked the mechanics. I got stuck a little bit but other than that I liked it. Nice work!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:59am

Sweet game, I really liked the old school style of it. Nice graphics too.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Really cool game, really like the aesthetics especially.

dsoft20 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:02am

Nice game!

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:03am

That was a very fun little game. I liked the dungeon design and how you had to think about what items to use and what doors to open. And I really dig the oldschool look :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Excellent fun... Good job on the retro.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]