April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist MAYHEM

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, I really, really outdid myself this time.

Here's my entry this time. It's a super-fun arcade-style top-down shooter, in the veins of Smash TV and Hyper Princess Pitch.

Okay, so the deal is, you're Mr. Minimal, this little cute cube guy, and all he wants is for the world to be gray and quiet. Unfortunately there's evil colorful aliens running about, so you have to shoot them all down, and repaint the rooms back to their boring gray tone!

Features:
- 6 unique weapons - Paintbrush! Spraypaint! PAINTZOOKA!
- Room painting - See each level's rooms turn into dull gray minimalist rectangles as you clear them!
- Awesome chiptune music - High energy 8-bit style retro music, oh yes!
- Dynamic music - Each time you destroy a jukebox, the corresponding melody cuts out!
- GAUNTLET mode - How long can you survive the waves?
- Evil Christmas trees. 'nuff said.

Download the soundtrack for free at: http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/minimalist-mayhem-original-soundtrack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.63
Coolness64%
Fun4.14
#16Overall4.14
#70Humor3.56
#126Mood3.56
#245Graphics3.56
#284Innovation3.47
#371Theme3.73

Comments

se1by says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Awesome game, really loved it

Misael.K says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Hey, nice game. Certainly a step up from your previous game, although I enjoyed the music in Gulliver a lot more (you gotta admit Gulliver had an awesome theme song).
Keep it up!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Thanks! I wish I had more time to spend on the music, ideally each level would have had a different song. But alas, time limits...

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Great soundtrack and sound stingers for this game!
Very Well done! nice touch that near the end it's lesser of music tracks. and LOL ms-paint weapon :P

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

Fucking great sounds. Fucking great.

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52am

One of the best games so far! Cool story!

Aksami0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Nice games.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Awesome game yet again, Gotta say this one makes me feel more like a villain more than the last game.. I don't wanna destroy the music :(

johnfn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I really like this. Bonus humor points for MS Paint. Loved how the music would gradually turn off as you destroyed the jukeboxes. It was really fun too!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

Nice music, and I really enjoyed the weapon and painting mechanic.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Great fun, the weapons are amazing.

Stellar music, but at this point we expect no less from you. ;)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

a lot of fun! though I kind of wish it changed a little more after the first level. still, it's impressive work for a weekend! :D

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Yeah! I totally wanted another enemy type or two, and more music! It's kind of blasphemy that I made so little music for this considering how quickly I churn out tunes, but...alas, needed all the time for coding xD

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

VERY impressive work for a solo, 48-hour project. Definitely fun, and had excellent music (as usual). Unfortunately, the graphics did feel a tad lacking in terms of detail, and the game didn't really have much "minimalism" going on besides the story. Regardless, I'm impressed by this entry. Nice job!

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:08am

Awesome game!!! I liked everything here man. The starting music was very catchy too. I think the spraypaint was op tho :D and bazooka is up (underpowered? :D) lol. Very addictive game. Best i played so far. Awesomely great game!!!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:07am

Interesting! I actually feel like the bazooka is really useful for taking out enemy spawners, since it takes them out in 3 hits, and since it does splash damage it'll take out enemies too. But it really sucks for painting the rooms, so that's the drawback. The spraypaint is awesome but harder to dodge bullets when you're up close. Again, tradeoffs :)

ddionisio says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42am

Cute cube art, got me to play your game!

You nailed the retro feel on the music and sound!

My only complaint is it got a little repetitive after 2 levels. Sorry!

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:05am

Fun game, but got repetitive. I really enjoyed the idea.

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Fun little shooter - loved the music.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:58am

Made a speed run of me playing through on normal, no continues: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hiWdUjF5FTA

Finished in 13:55. Can you beat that?

rezzish says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:46am

Good, excellent!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:29am

wow -- awesome game -- gonna play that again -- great effort!

ceMelusine says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:55am

<3 ceMelusine

radmars says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:32am

Holy crap this game is amazing. The concept is great, the music is awesome, and it's just plain fun. I love the jukeboxes eliminating single tracks in the song too. Definitely one of my favorites so far - I finished it despite it being a bit too long for an LD game, IMO. My only suggestion would be to have more variety between levels, make the bullets stand out more from the background, and maybe have the ground-clearing have some more effect on the combat (color slows you down maybe?) rather than just something you have to do.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:05am

This game has some of the best audio I've ever seen in an LD game. Period. This is REALLY good, and I really enjoyed it. Thank you!

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Wow awesome music! The game idea and execution is also great!

chowdy says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:47am

Ahhh, really awesome game. Excellent music-- didn't want to kill the stereos =(

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Very nice rhythm. Gray will rule the world !

Mach60KAS says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Wow, the music for this was fantastic! Probably one of the most fun entries I've played so far, very well done! :)

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice game!

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:32pm

The game's page says "Ludum Dare 23" (this is Ludum Dare 26)

Jesse111 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Beautifully done.
A charming and fun game in every aspect.
5s across the board!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:53pm

@Jesse111: thanks! I've fixed the webpage :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]