April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

World of Minimalism

by VDZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Last updated on May 3rd, 2013; for judging, please use the original version (first three links). For normal playing, the newest version is strongly recommended due to bugs in the original version.)

==================
NOTE: If you can't move when you log in, but you do see tiles around you, that means somebody made the starter tile solid. Right-click at your position to edit it, and make it non-solid to move again.
==================

This game has no gameplay.
The world is empty.
There is nothing to interact with.
There are no graphics except for the player character and a
minimalistic interface.

It is up to you to turn this empty world into something.



Controls:
Arrow keys and WASD - Move
Right click - Edit/close menu
Left click - Paint/erase/click button/toggle checkbox
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 - Set zoom level
F or Alt-Enter - Toggle fullscreen



World of Minimalism is a Windows-only game using .NET 4 and XNA Framework 4. If you don't have those or are not sure, pick the large download. Alternatively, you can download them here:

.NET Framework 4:
https://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=17851
XNA Framework 4:
https://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914



This game is public domain. Feel free to do whatever you want with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Innovation3.85
#135Overall3.70
#198Fun3.44
#207Theme3.93
#343Graphics3.35
#512Mood2.94
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49am

Sorry about the frequent bugs (they can be fixed with restarts, but restarting every minute is very annoying). I'll see if I can get a v2 up later.

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Bugs squashed. Play v2 if you don't want to have to restart the game every other minute.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This is the best game ever. I didn't see that this is a multiplayer game. You can chat with the creator in the game!

Toinane says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

It's a good project :D A love this sort of game !

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

This is amazing! I hope you get my note

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

i didn't understand what to do, but i love the very retro style :D

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Very cool! This is a good take on the theme and I had fun adding to the world; I hope others do too.

I had hoped for some kind of interaction other than a huge canvas. But I wish there were more games like this one. :)

LOTS of bugs in the compo version!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31am

I really love these multiplayer world building games! I found the controls a little annoying (kept pressing right click by instinct from paint programs :p) but it's a damn cool idea :D

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I love this idea. It's awesome.

I wish you could edit multiple tiles at once though.

I also shamefully destroyed some text in the welcome box :P

Tifu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58am

Great idea, though the theme was minimalism it would be nice if there was something more to do, not sure what though exactly...

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Nice game, well done! :D

VDZ says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I've updated the post-LD version to v4.

CHANGELOG:
-ADDED: You can now copy the tile at your cursor by pressing C.
-ADDED: You can now paste at your cursor by pressing V.
-ADDED: You can now change the color of the tile at your cursor by pressing B.

Simply put, copying/pasting is now tons faster.

Canyon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:22am

I loved this game 5 stars for everything but audio, humor and mood.

Misael.K says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:41am

It's amazing how the users make this game. I found a whole world here.

marnaouf says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Really cool game.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Sadly the game just crashes when I try to start it (without any special error message). :( (Win XP, 32-bit laptop here)

VDZ says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:45pm

@SuperlevelSebastian
Do you have .NET Framework 4 and XNA 4 installed? The installers for them are included in the first link. Otherwise, it might be a case of your computer not meeting the minimum requirements for XNA (it just crashing instead of notifying the player when that happens is my fault), as XNA just refuses to run on machines without the proper specs (it's especially picky about video cards; an XP32 laptop's built-in video card is likely not good enough for XNA).

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:24am

sadly this entry wont win -- but it probably should -- you have done something really brilliant here!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]