April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ruined

by chrismcr - Jam Entry

*** Update the second: fixed crash in windows version!


Ruined

AKA Changing Ruins
AKA Dungeon Keeper with Lawrence Llewellyn Bowen

The hit new TV show: renovate a dusty old bit of heritage into a shiny new apartment block, before the National Trust grannies kick the *&�£* out of your workers!

Plays like a weird combination of Dwarf Fortress and tower defence, and has a difficulty curve reminiscent of a spirograph.

** UPDATE: please comment and let me know how much % you managed to renovate (or if the grannies kicked yo' ass)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#24Humor(Jam)3.73
#107Innovation(Jam)3.48
#115Mood(Jam)3.48
#119Fun(Jam)3.32
#152Overall(Jam)3.45
#217Audio(Jam)3.07
#272Theme(Jam)3.26
#330Graphics(Jam)2.97

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I really liked this game! The difficulty spikes around the 4 minute mark but overall I think the difficulty curve is pretty nice. One complaint is that I can't select multiple blocks as once. It looked like I was able to do it, but when I let go of the mouse nothing changes. Great game overall though.

nixeldev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Hehehe very funny, good game too, difficult :p Love the moaning national trust member voice!

chrismcr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

@sparkleswirl you can drag-select multiple blocks to define one job - so you can select the whole floor of a room and one guy will do it all. I haven't explained that very well in the game though!

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12am

Kind of WTF. Really liked it :)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16am

The game crashed when I started playing it.

chrismcr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

@fullmontis which platform?

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Was really fun haha. Though my men died so quickly!

Wilson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:34am

Very cool game, I always found it very satisfying to smooth and engrave everything in DF, and this has a similar satisfaction to it. It would have been nice to have some indication of when celebrities had nothing to do since they often get distracted by the grannies, but overall I enjoyed it a lot.

chrismcr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

Here's a challenge: looking at the code I've realised you can get over 100% renovated if you knock down enough walls (and renovate the floor beneath them). Not remotely convinced it's possible inside ten minutes though...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

What just happened o_O ?! With the timer at 05:00 the game just floded me with the bad guys, mocking me :D! Fun.

Markavian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Excellent work crussel! 48%, I managed to keep the grannies locked away outside until I'd rennovated the east wing, but they spawned so frequently my guys couldn't handle the pain. Loved the concept, <3 DK. Felt a bit frustrated that the guys were standing around getting kills when there were jobs to do.

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I have the same issue that fullmontis. When I launch it , it says "Adress 0x0000 cannot be read".
I'm on xp.

derdragon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Agree with the difficulty, but I think a bit of that just stems from the workers not necessarily fighting back or whatever. Definitely spent the most time on this one so far. Simple but interesting gameplay.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:03pm

O.O the game is very cool. And the pathfinding works very well =D

jmf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Bit too hard, got to about 13% before I died. Pretty fun though and sfx and graphics are good.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Hah, that was fun, but way too hard. Managed to get to 10% but those are some vicious grannies. Great concept.
The intro text was a bit messed up for me, running in Wine.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:21pm

pretty good concept but couldn't really find a good strategy to win! =P

May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

Sadly it just crashes when I try to start it on my laptop (Win XP, 32 bit version). :(

Geoege says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:11am

Did something like 25%, really like the idea, graphics are a bit cheap but gameplay is pretty cool and fun.
Maybe added a combat stance for workers culd have been a good idea.
Btw great game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Super fun! The C-List Celebrities die really fast...

GarethIW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Awesome game, really funny and quite addictive. I think I got to 44% after playing for nearly an hour! Please please please make a polished version, even if you don't add much more!

foul says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Really good game concept! Didn't managed to beat it. A few things are needed - either something like battle state (group units command of some sort or attack there with selection holding ctrl?) or at least to be abble to command individually(and sneak in the other section with someone when fighting with the others)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]