April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

m

by cadin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Start at Blue. Find Green. Use the arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#46Theme4.25
#139Overall3.69
#196Mood3.38
#224Innovation3.57
#249Graphics3.55
#281Fun3.30
#336Audio3.07
#529Humor2.25

Comments

alexanderm006 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:21pm

nice game!

mihnescu says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:28pm

At first I was "wha the ...", but then I realized ... this game is brilliant for this theme, good job :)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Pretty interesting game. :) My failure was that I thought I could freely stare at level's first screen to somewhat memorize route, and then go on. Except, at some point clock started ticking when I was still memorizing, and it was just over for me. :)

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

It was great fun, quite hard!

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Very minimal. :-) I enjoyed it. Nicely done.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Awesome! Fits the theme perfectly. At first I thought it would be too hard, but it turned out to be super fun when I figured it out. I constantly felt lost, and the timer ticking down made it a bit tenser. Great combination of Tension and Zen. And seeing that smile with 1 second left is a great feeling :P

ocmu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Cool balance of memorization and speed.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Cute smiley! :]

khahem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Cool game, it's the Columbo of games, you start each episode with the solution but don't know if you'll find it :)

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

Wow, this is really cool! Reminds me of the old text adventures, but this is even better. full points for innovation and fun :D

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

Very cool. Didn't realize until like half way through that I could use the cursor keys. The audio was a tiny bit on the nails on chalkboard side. Minimalism was great. Solid entry.

MatrixBai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

Memory Maze game, the design is so neat, I like it.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Great job with the theme! And bonus points for showing me how bad both my memory AND sense of direction is ;)

Mesene says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Nice design and grafics! very solid.
I enjoyed it a lot :)

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:22am

One of my fav'! Nice glossy palette!

May 1, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Awesome graphics and sound. Took me a moment to figure out what I am supposed to do, but then I got it. Cute game with interesting idea.

DustyStylus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Very smart! I was totally confused at first, then it dawned on me what a subtle and smart little game we have here. Perfect presentation as well. Nice use of the theme, well done!

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:44am

Really nice concept there - didn't take long to pick up, and a nice use of the theme!

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Cool game, not usually fond of memory game, but your kept me playing. I love the art style too, simple but really efficient

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:49pm

nice one! fits the theme perfectly and is fun to play.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Yay, I got a green W!

This is a great, smart little puzzle game. I was going to complain that it didn't support cursor keys, but I was just being dumb :P

The hardest level was... was it eight? where you had like a square and crosses everywhere. Rather than outright memorizing what steps to take, I just checked the map until I had an idea of where to go and what pitfalls there are. 'Go left until you can go up, go up all the way, left, up, you are at the top. Go to all the way to the right and go down the very last shaft...'

Fantastic job!

ilo says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Certainly nails the theme in terms of its presentation and gameplay. Having the timer go immediately works on the first try - you have to judge how long to memorize the map while leaving yourself enough time to get to the exit - but since the levels aren't random the player could conceivably wait until the clock runs out, then move immediately on the retry.

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:54am

At first I thought the maps were random and I had to guess my way around, until I understood the map as each level started.

I would agree with the map thing...it would be cool to have a set of maps per level that cycles around so that a player could not simply copy the route at the start, wait for the restart and follow the copied route.

The later levels were devilish with memory. Grah! Good job for successfully making a minimalistic yet interesting game!

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:25am

Simple, effective.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 1:09am

Wow, great! Perfectly captures simplicity and minimalism. Too bad I'm too late to rate. I was unable to finish the game, I think it was around level 8 when I drew the line. =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]