April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Brave Warrior

by My Milked Eek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Android users: ignore the permissions needed. I don't know why he asks for those permissions; I never use them and they're not included in my AndroidManifest. My manifest is as bare as it can be. If you know how or why, drop me a hint.

Android URL:
http://mymilkedeek.net/files/games/ludum/26/Android.apk

Ludum folder:
http://mymilkedeek.net/files/games/ludum/26/

Font credit goes to Brittney Murphy
http://www.dafont.com/fishfingers.font

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#364Humor2.54
#464Audio2.85
#991Fun2.49
#1019Mood2.38
#1055Graphics2.36
#1132Overall2.56
#1231Theme2.63
#1260Innovation1.98

Comments

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Cool Game! Felt kind of like a medieval version of SkiFree.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Why are we killing animals?
Its a complete game, nice :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

pretty fun to play. nice to see some other slick2d entrys

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

You're killing animals because I forgot to include a story. Damn those bulls and their pink underwear.

syre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:10pm

okay, well i played that for i'm pretty sure too long. i used my phone.
bad: as it runs it progressively freezes up more and eventually crashes. this happened consistently. when dying and retrying the music often played over itself and sometimes the intro song would play too.
good: the enemy types complemented eachother and it all fit together well game design wise. i had fun.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

What phone are you using? I haven't tested a lot of devices and mine's pretty powerful.

And playing it for too long is a nice compliment, thanks! I'll look into the bug.

syre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

apparently it's an htc incredible 2. it was the cheapest in the store. i highly recommended this strategy for buying phones.

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

I love the audio. The music is great, and the snake sound effect made me laugh every time. Bowowowowng!

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Cool game. Not as fun with a mouse as on the phone :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Worked perfectly on my Nexus 7. I do believe this is the first LD game I've played on it. Good job.

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

The music is great and the enemies really stand out and make it unique. Nice job!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:33am

Looks like I'm not a hero, that's a man extreme anyway :)

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice job!

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Reminded me of the games I made when I first started out making stuff, good memories, fun to play :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Nice and cool game! I liked it well done!

V0ID says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Good game, though I didn't get what the bar on the right means?
As already said its probably more fun on the phone than on the PC (I played on PC) but I will mind that in my ratings ; )

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Sadly doesn't run on my windows xp machine.
Got the following error: net.mymilkedeek.ld.desktopstarter.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

That's not really descriptive. Isn't there a bigger stack trace?

And that bar is the counter for the special attack. Should have mentioned that.

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

I really like how the challenge scales over time, and the music :-). I think you could probably make a random scrolling background, using the same sprites you used for trees, rocks and lakes.

Blinked says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

fun game, ran perfectly on lg optimus g. love the humor and music!

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:06pm

This is really fun. played on nexus 7. This makes me want to play guardian legend with this control structure. Loved the audio in this as well.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Played it on my galaxy s, st first it ram ok, then it got more and more laggy until it crashed.

Szedouu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:53am

Nicely done, feels like a warrior :D

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:24am

I love the audio effects.
Good very theme-orientated entry

voidstar69 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I played this on Android. I like the music and sound effects. :-)
The gameplay seemed to be literally hit and miss - often I thought that I had hit a creature, only to die because I hit slightly too early or late.
I like the presence of scoring - it gives a reason to replay, and to try to progress.

f7f5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:04pm

I had the same problems with the game freezing up with time on my Galaxy S. Very basic, liked the music.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:39am

poor cows -- nice job!

KEFIR says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Good job! Really enjoyable and fun little game

paulopn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice game! Collision detection seems a little off sometimes, but it's okay how it is.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:22pm

You have to wipe right in front of your unit to attack, not a perfect solution on tablets (I played it on a Nexus 7). Tapping/Wiping detection would be fine.

Pisti says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Cool entry, nice music! I played the windows version and I noticed you could just keep the space bar pressed to be nearly invincible ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]