April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

HOT/COLD

by Axelhein - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In the game, you play as man who is trapped in an alternate dimension. To get out he must find all of the crystals that holds the dimension together. This will free him, but also make the dimension very unstable.

The crystals are very hot and their heat changes the color of what you see the closer you get to them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#255Graphics3.53
#278Fun3.31
#406Overall3.31
#422Audio2.93
#437Theme3.65
#562Mood2.87
#690Humor2.05
#855Innovation2.73

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04am

I LOVE the art aesthetic in this! Though I must say the jumping was annoying.. the "short" jump was too easy to active when I wanted the "high" jump, and I felt like it was too short.. The controls made me die prematurely several times.

Great application of the theme though!

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Really great art style. Jumping while running is a bit buggy. On the other hand, I had fun learning and beating the levels.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

This game is relaxing ;-)

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Awesome, Very nice

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Pretty cool. I have a small issue with lag when jumping, but other than that, it was pretty darn fun!

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

This game was awesome! Felt polished even though it is simple. Thanks!

Kortuga98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

I thought the controls were fine. Pretty challenging, good mechanic.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

So good graphics, sound, game play. The only thing I did find need improvement is the jumping mechanics which glitched out on me.

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Has anyone actually beaten this game?

larb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Fun with simple graphics and mechanics. No bugs here. Surprisingly challenging. Nice work!

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice art style and decently enjoyable!

BipoleMoment says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I think this game was really really hard and made me very mad a lot of times. Therefore, you did a very very good job at it.
I literally took 2 hours to beat it.

Plus that music is just too cute. :3

Zillix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:40am

the bichrome aesthetic was really cool. great job!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:37am

This is minimalist, but really hard at the end. I love this two colored graphism, and the music goes well with the game, maybe it's a little bit repetitive. Anyway, I love this game ;)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:41am

Nice! Main character looks like a smiling toast and I like that :)

dook says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:43am

The colour changing mechanic was cool, but it didn't feel like the level design used it much. With some more interesting levels it could be much more fun :) Other than that it seemed pretty solid to me.

cmayhem says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:29am

Took me moment to realize you can do a long jump. After that it was a blast. Loved the art direction and the controls felt quite good.

May 20, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Cute little platformer!
Nice game mechanic, but I felt that it wasn't explored as fully as it could have been.
I enjoyed it!

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

The "The World is Collapsing" level could be made easier by reducing the obstruction by 1 tile. I felt it was too hard. Fun game otherwise :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]