April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gut Buster Zombie Dash

by zairon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**NOTE**:
@Edit2: I trimmed things to make loading HTML5 faster.

@Edit1: I made a hack patch to fix a collision detection problem, so the game should play a lot better.

This is a game where you are trying to escape the Zombie Horde by running to a chopper. However, you get tired from all that running, so you need to eat. Eat too much, and you gain weight and slow down...you may be Zombie food. You can only carry one item, and it can help you, or you can discard it if it slows you down too much.

Use WASD to move, and SHIFT to dash. Press SPACE to drop your equipment, or click on the equipment icon to drop the item.

There is rudimentary controller support. For XBOX 360-style controls, move with the left stick/joypad, and use A to dash. Use X to drop your equipment.

Made with libGDX!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#413Humor2.45
#554Graphics3.03
#625Fun2.91
#670Audio2.51
#770Overall2.97
#782Mood2.66
#982Innovation2.51
#1294Theme2.41

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Kind of weird that you take so much damage from the walls. Otherwise, a pretty neat game. Why does it take so long just to download the fonts?

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I wish it wasn't so buggy, the character really starts freaking out and jumping everywhere when I go near anything

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27pm

It's a good idea, the risk/reward of picking up food. Takes the really overused theme of zombies as leverage to put the focus on something else. This might just be playing in the web version, but I had problems with clipping through the walls and getting stuck in them.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

A lot more fun that it looks! Really creepy zombie sounds :-)

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Game took a fairly long time to load. Fun to play while I could, but the collision detection mostly screwed me over.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Yeah, I think I will have to patch the wall thing. I didn't really hang out near the walls while developing it and found out near the end of the LD that they were lethal. It's just supposed to be a boundary! Sorry about that...

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Buggy collision are so frustraing, and the game is so hard due to that. Sad to lost at 100 feet to the chopper, beacause of a collision on the wall.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I made a patch to the collisions with the walls. I hope it helps you enjoy the game better!

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

That is a log freakin way to the chopper! The wall collisions were initially frustrating but later I just adapted to them - walls are sticky, so back up and go around. I like the army of zeds marching in the back. I can see this being more fun with an action key and greater item variety. I didn't quite get the meaning of the ... weight meter? It varied a lot.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Neat concept, but it is too long in my opinion. It does not change over time and the possibility of accidently getting sorrounded by zombies shortly after accidently collecting a hammer rises with time. Also sometimes I get gaps where there is no food for a long time, so I need to stop for a while to recover stamina.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

As you pick up items they can add to your weight so it slows you down. I was going for the theme there, to say you need a balance of things that help to reach your goal. The game needs some balancing, for sure. I would definitely add more things, and they were on the drawing board but got cut due to time (more powerups like a zombie repellent, fast zombies that come after you, a pre-canned maze of walls to navigate, etc.)

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

And remember you can drop things. My strategy has been to use the hammer and then drop it. I ran out of time to have the equipment items remain after you drop them so you can go back and get them, but I wasn't sure if that was a good design anyway.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

the game run so slowly it hard to play

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41am

great game couldn't make that far though

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I like the design and how it plays, but, like said by others already, the execution is a bit rickety in places.

bentog says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

It is an innovative run on zombie games, however collision is a bit buggy and items are confusing. Audio is scary enough, and the art is cool too.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28am

I'm dying all the time... but i like Zombies and I like surviving games... something with the collision went wring I think :D

zairon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52am

Agh, you guys are tempting me to fix my wonky collision detection. I hope its not too bad to keep you from trying to win. I wanted it to be hard, but not so that you die because of my bad code :(

Ryusui says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:38am

The collision detection is a more frustrating obstacle than the zombies. Plus, the guy moves so slowly that if (when!) he gets caught up on anything, you're as good as dead even with the sprint option.

zazery says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:41am

Took a long time to load the HTML5 version. I like the resource system and the speed of the game. I died almost instantly since it took me a few seconds to realize where my character was.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:17am

This moved quite slow for a side scrolling runner game, but it matched well with the shambling zombie subject matter. Most side scrolling runners are the definition of minimalist game play but you added a bunch of elements to this one. I still fund it very enjoyable.

Diventurer says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:19am

Really buggy... Wasn't enjoyable at all.

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Nice running game. It could have been fun to add an acceleration relative to the time you survived. (I don't know if I made myself clear ?).
Good job.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Neat use of theme. loved the zombie sounds!

mikeware says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Really fun little runner. Kept dropping the sledgehammer though, didn't see the point. Wanted an action button to break through walls or zombie hordes. Wanted to make it to the chopper, but mysteriously would just run out of stamina, thought I was picking up enough food.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:23pm

A wellrounded entry. Nice risk-reward factor in it, though the pacing was kinda slow.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]