April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Prospector

by Jeremias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My take on the theme is the minimalistic lifestyle of an outsider, a prospector and scout in specific. You range the woods for resources like deep fishing grounds, spots of rare herbage and valuable ores. While you mark them on your map for your client, you need to stay alive. Your only enemy is you: don't starve, don't die of thirst and don't freeze to death. Every landscape has its natural resources which you must find.

To play this game, you need to have .NET 4 and XNA 4 installed. You can get them here:

.NET 4
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851

XNA
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#38Graphics4.20
#139Overall3.69
#141Mood3.51
#204Audio3.30
#278Fun3.31
#344Innovation3.40
#702Humor2.04
#778Theme3.31

Comments

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Very serene little game, I think you captured the theme pretty well.

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Like the look and feel, very cleanly done.

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

This looks and feels absolutely amazing. Well done!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Very nice!

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Very peacefull and interesting game.
Maybe a bit repetitive but it works very well.
Nice done.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Solid game !

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I like the unique idea and the nice graphics. This game fits the theme very well.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Very smooth game. It's a very minimalistic yet challenging turn-based strategy game. Awesome balance!

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:34am

Good looking game, with fine gameplay. It's fairly easy to figure the game out and is fun to play. Nice graphics too.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:46am

cool art, very cool art =D

shotiris says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Pretty cool!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Minimal but effective! Liked it a lot.

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:33am

Great little game! Some added features and bonuses would make this really fun. Maybe an overall goal as well. Nice work!

Zhrack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Great game! Just some other elements and it can be a good non-jam game

IceCliff says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:20am

I love games with a good atmosphere!

Szedouu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:55am

Clean work, new and fresh look on survival kind.

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:01am

Excelent game design, awesome graphics...
The only drawback for me was no full screen mode, and on the UI, the elements you must "catch" should be more clearly separated from the your resources... Good job!

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:08pm

What to say? I liked it a lot! I don't have any criticism to give, quite the perfect game.

CMaster says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Gorgeous looking resource management puzzler.
Be good if the tool tips could update without having to mouse away and back again though.

May 8, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Unfortunately I can't rate this one since I don't have Windows

May 8, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Great work! This game have a very high level of finition.

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Love hex games, would like to change the way of playing to another not secuential...it's hard to understand the rules but it is simple...
nicely done

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Nice game, very minimalist great job! :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Beautiful presentation.

multikorv says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:22am

Looks really nice! Definitely got some minimalism there. Also quite addictive gameplay. :) Nice job.

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Ahh, the first turnbased game I found, also a very enjoyable one :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:11pm

The game feels very "polished"!
I also really liked the music.

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:16pm

great graphics and an impressive game :) good job

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:33am

I couldn't get this to run on my Windows 7 64-bit machine. The mouse does the hour glass briefly then nothing happens.

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:36am

Ignore my last comment. I didn't have XNA redist installed :)

Taro Omiya says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:38am

A lot like the board game, Catan. Enjoyed it while it lasted. Made it to level 8, yo!

brantkings says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Great game. Had fun with it. Particularly the graphics and little animations are very well put together.

MinionStudios says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Really fun and very simple. The resource management is challenging and rewarding!

JonathanG says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:31pm

It took me a little while to figure out what was going on, but once I got the hang of it (thanks to rollovers) I enjoyed it. I cruised through most of the levels, so much so that I started to get a bit bored, but then the difficulty suddenly ramped up in level 9 (It seems the levels are random, I don't know if it's possible to win). The gameplay is good, and I appreciated the audio. If you intend to expand on this idea, I'd add some more tiles that get introduced over time, and maybe some story or extra puzzles of some kind. All in all though, a very impressive effect for 1 person in 48 hours! Also, the graphics were lovely!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]