April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Complexity

by adnzzzzZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CHROME USERS can install this (https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/l%C3%B6veliness/mompnkcmpbopandjnddeecgeeojegohc) plugin to play .love files on the browser!





"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away. - Antoine de Saint-Exupery" - Michael Scott

CONTROLS: WADS + J or ARROWS + Z; U for upgrades

Kill all enemies while maintaining the lowest score possible! This can be done by NOT using many projectile or area modifiers.

Are you so super awesome that you can resist not using EXPLODING PIERCING REFLECTING SLOWING SUPER FAST HIGH DAMAGING MULTIPLE projectiles? Play the game to find out!





KNOWN BUGS: reloading isn't properly setting your weapon level and score. If you care about the score being properly displayed then kill the game and start it again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#574Audio2.68
#863Humor1.83
#932Innovation2.61
#946Theme3.11
#999Graphics2.46
#1045Overall2.68
#1083Fun2.36
#1125Mood2.21

Comments

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26am

I liked the idea. Wasn't sure how to move and attack (WADS and J). Didn't really understand how the weapon modifiers affected the enemies, or my score, or the game really. It also would have been nice to have a distinguishing feature (color?) for the player cube

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

All modifiers affect what your attack does in the most obvious way according to their names, I guess. The higher your attack level (the more modifiers you have), the higher your score will be over time.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

This game is rather hard; I wasn't even able to get a weapon.

Nice job!

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

win version didn't run on my pc(

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very hard, I can't kill one cube! Liked weapon shortcuts in upgrade screen and cubes animation. Also great music!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

I couldn't destroy any of the enemies, so I upgraded my damage to 100 and even then it took 2 shots to destroy the small ones. I kept getting hit and I wasn't sure what it meant when the enemies got to the red thing at the bottom. The player character is hard to see as well. I like the view-kick from the big enemies, though. I wish I'd added that to my game somehow. You had background music, but no sound effects for shooting.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

@josefnpat @myachin @lanz: You can get weapons by pressing U and choosing what modifiers you want your weapon to have. Then press CTRL-A to choose that attack. If you want to you can choose ALL upgrades and you'll have the most OP weapon ever, but since the point of the game is to keep your score low, you probably don't wanna do that!

@lulzfish_4: When enemies get to the red thing the counter (30) is decreased. If that gets to 0 you lose.

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Neat! You've implemented a really cool upgrade system. It would be interesting to see this implemented in a game where you can't just give yourself all the upgrades for free.

(I did that and it crashed the game =D )

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

@Martze: Yea I quickly realized after a few people played it that free upgrades wasn't such a terribly good idea. Maybe starting with lots of upgrades and then having them be removed gradually would be better? But yea...

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Felt a bit too random. Sometimes I died instantly and other times it felt like a breeze.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Interesting concept, and in theme (i guess?). Althou you have to work on your Math a bit ;) The score system is flawed - the best score is when you dont kill any enemy, and let them all through, while holding the worst possible weapon. Also, the math on weapons and HP seems a bit on the hard side, so do the movement speeds. Finally, very unwelcoming to new players - you start with the worst possible gun with hardly any chance to survive, and with no instructions on how to shoot. Lot of potential, every flaw is easily fixable, so hope to see you next dare :)

davidB says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I play first, then I read the comments. I agree with all of them + may be put the control on the help screen (eg: press J to attack, I had to come back to the LD page to find the info) in future version.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I couldnt even kill anything. I did like to jump over eneimes. I did not like the One-hit KO.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I like the idea, the animations and the music. With the default weapon I wasn't able to destroy anything, but the available updates help. My biggest problem with the game is the height of the window. Because my screen is only 768 pixels in height, so the game doesn't fit on it.

netmute says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very hard, but cool style.

tiffi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:21am

nice little game. cool idea, but a bit random

headchant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:44am

Reminds me of supercratebox :) Nice one.

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:22am

upgrades appear to do nothing and the cost doesn't reset if I die but the weapon does, maybe..I can't tell
and shooting an enemy the entire way to the bottom doesn't kill it?

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:31am

The game has potential, but based on my experience, and the comments I'm reading here, there are some usability issues that should be looked at. The concept of minimizing a score while completing some objective (that would typically be in conflict with minimizing score) is intriguing. I don't know that exploration of mandatory powerups is the right angle for it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]