April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Glow

by LeReveur - Jam Entry

So, I tried. And this time, I have almost what I had in mind from the beginning, but... I can't make any IA, so while it's a two players game, you'll need a friend to test it, or play against yourself.

Basically, it's a territory game : the main goal is to cover more space than your opponent when all the board is full.
The rules are simple : at your turn (you know it's your turn when your name is within brackets) you can claim any place near the borders or near any place you already own. If your last claim complete a limit from a border to another, the space within this limit belongs to you (well, almost, because the filling routine doesn't work as well as I would like), except any opponent's place, of course.

To make this... thing, I used Gimp, Haxe, HaxePunk and FlashDevelop. There is no sound neither music, I lost most of my time fighting the bugs. :(

NB : don't pay attention to the subtitle, it's a joke.

EDIT : I found the filling bug and crushed it with some heavy code (well, not that heavy, but I'm pretty sure it hurts and I would not wish to be this bug). Now you'll not be stucked with a can not play situation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#169Theme(Jam)3.56
#249Innovation(Jam)3.05
#398Graphics(Jam)2.75
#443Overall(Jam)2.68
#453Fun(Jam)2.34
#468Mood(Jam)2.28

Comments

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Le principe en lui même n'est pas forcément original mais la façon de le présenter l'ait.
Petit jeu sympathique.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Very interesting game idea. I'm not 100% sure about the rules, but it looks pretty nice. Definitely fits the theme.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

It would have been nice to have some AI, but I can see how it would be fun! Simple visuals, yet it works.

Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

Interesting idea. I ran into a slight problem where Cyan had no possible moves yet, but I didn't know how to skip a turn.

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

Interesting concept. high marks on innovation.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

I love the images you end up with at the end.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Thanks for your comments, and I wish I had more experience to make an IA to play against, but after thinking about that, i'm not sure I can do something like that, even with more time...

Special thanks to Rose, I found a big bug thanks to you. :)

mikeware says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

It was a little hard to grasp initially where I could click. It also may help to color the cursor based on the player color too. I think the hardest part was knowing when it would fill or create a line.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

@mikeware : in my original idea, i wanted to show the result before validate the move, but it was too difficult to do and I give up this idea. However, it would not be so difficult to make a colored cursor different between players, but I wonder if I can do that now without breaking the competition rules. Maybe noticed as a post-jam version ?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Those are pretty neat rules I think, wish I had someone here with me to test them out :)
But it feels a little like Go and Go is always nice.
Nice colours too!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I really like Go, since a long, long time. And yeah, it's a mix between Go and er... Perhaps Reversi, a little.
I hadden't any chance yet to test it with a friend too, so I hope someone will do, to know if this game is really interesting or not while playing with someone... :(

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

That's a pretty cool and original idea. Would have been really nice to play against the computer instead of myself.

zitheker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

je trovue que c'est une idée interessante.Meme si c'est sur que tout seul, y a peu d'interet, je trouve que la facon de presenter est trés interessante et change des autres jeux du genre.
Je crois que le coté minimaliste permet de se recentrer sur le jeu et c'est une trés bonne chose. Ne reste plus qu'a inviter des amis. ^^

En tout cas, GG pour ce petit jeu sympa. dommage que je puisse aps voter :)

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Nice, feels like playing Go almost. Would have rather had an AI but eh.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Not really understood how to win, but the result is interesting. Better if it had some sounds and music.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:46pm

The game reminds me of something I used to play at school on paper, but I can't remember the name. And the style reminds me of the Star Trek LCARS design. For implementing an AI you could try at first to create valid random moves and add additional rules to that, when it works. Sometimes some randomness feels already good.

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

interesting game. But I think that the starting player has an advantage.

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:08am

Interesting concept, could have used a grid to make things a little clearer and wasn't aware it was a multiplayer thing until I finished it. Played it a second time with someone else but it could have used an AI. Still pretty nifty in its presentation :).

mortus says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:47am

Nice game, I liked it! Great thing for me was that I've invented it (with slight difference - only one starting point) many years ago and played it on a sheet of paper with my friends. It's fun to discover a nice looking video version of it now. (and it costs you one star for innovation from me, sorry :D)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]