April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chicky & Katey

by pythong - Jam Entry

*****************************
* *
* PRESS SPACE TO ATTACK *!
* *
*****************************


*EDIT* uploaded a second version (Monday evening, so within the time frame here in Germany) because some of you wanted sound :)

---------------------

*JAM Entry* - because I forbid myself to enter this as a 'real' LD entry for redrawing sprites of an old game.

Staying as minimalistic as I can / want, I will avoid giving additional hints to *how to play this game* ^^

This game is a re-programming of an old time classic of mine, Binary Land! Minimal thinking -> hardly any graphics + no-brainers. Also, I think it's cute how the two lovers try to reach each other (I would say 'knuffig' in German), so please help them to get back to each other again^^

I also left out additional items from the original, because they made no sense to me. In the original game, you could call the whale after destroying several enemies, I left that out here. Also, there's no hidden cheat mode :D

And what was most disappointing was that, since I like the original so much, I was unfortunately unable to add any of my crappy music to this game, as it would not give you the right feeling. Try to imagine 'Je Te Veux' when you play it ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#268Fun(Jam)2.90
#271Humor(Jam)2.14
#288Overall(Jam)3.08
#304Graphics(Jam)3.05
#332Mood(Jam)2.74
#369Innovation(Jam)2.65
#447Audio(Jam)1.65
#481Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

this is a clone of an old nintendo game but its very well done, perfect style.

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

This is awesome! Such good sprites! Really cool concept, the only thing that would have made it better would have been some music/sfx. One of my favorite games yet

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice game, but a net right after the start is a bit frustrating

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

reminds me of an old colecovision game.. like the gfx.. couldnt finish the 1st level tho as im probably an idiot :)

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Cute game. Reminds me of the classic arcade games of the 80s. Good job.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

Nice job redesigning the old classic! I myself recreated this game for a birthday present for my girl :)

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00am

Interesting game! Took a while to figure out I could destroy the webs though:(

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Very nice! Fun, challenging, fair enought... very solid entry. One bad point for me nevertheless: the game is more old-school oriented rather than minimalistic. But what is minimal and what is not? Hard to answer :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Pretty good homage to original.

itsZN says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Nice idea, but a little hard to line up.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:34pm

nice game but very hard -- some levels are impossible as the web is in the way -- great job

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Nice idea.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]