April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Trader [Buggy]

by Keevor - Jam Entry

this got really messy, there were random pieces of code everywhere that may or may not have done anything. it's also riddled with bugs. I really don't want to touch this again. Anyways, for all who actually choose to play it, which is possible:

Instructions-----------------------------------------------
Click bottom resources to match those above. going above loses you lots of money, while not going at all loses the game. it doesn't get harder as you go on because it broke the game. matching them correctly earns money.
once bankrupt you lose, displaying the amount of turns you survived.

Beware!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Nice concept! The HTML5 version worked fine for me (no lag). If you have time in the future to revisit and expand on this idea I bet it'd turn into something great.

Keevor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

Thanks, it may have just been my browser, it has been pretty bad lately. I guess i may try and clean this up later. I'll leave it for now though.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:10am

I had a glitch where the top sprites were black, making it hard to play, but very fast paced and pretty fun

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:18am

At least it's a game! The fast/accurate clicking mechanic is a little addictive. It seems like maybe you were going for more depth? What do the icons on the top right mean?

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:19am

If I click on one with 0 it messes up i think those are the bugs you are talking about

Keevor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:25pm

@avidgamerNino Well, unless the top resource isn't a zero, and you click on one, then you get fined(and possibly lose). Or does it mess up in another way?
@kurrik Originally they were going to determine what the alien would want/how much he'd pay. They are the alien himself, and some sort of faction thing.

Jonapulse says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:06pm

It looked good.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:28pm

This gave me a Wario party feeling, really hectic

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]