April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Interaction Warfare

by zapaman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimal Interaction Warfare
---------------------------
Windows uploaded ATM. Maybe Linux and Android tomorrow. (should work with WINE).

READ BELLOW ON HOW TO PLAY IT!

Goal:
- Destroy all the enemy units
or
- Get at least 3 units to the enemy starting point

Game Over:
- All your units are destroyed
or
- The enemy get's at least 3 units on your starting grid

Controls:
When the game starts, you have 1290 points which you can spend
on units (soldiers and tanks). A soldier costs 40 and a tank 100.
Soldiers stats:
- They do high damage
- Low Health points
- Lower Range than tanks
(good for offense)

Tanks:
- They do less damage then the soldier
- Huge Health Points
- Higher Attack Range
(great for defense, stalling the enemy)

You can only place units on the lower part of the screen (first two rows)

After placing all the units on the grid, you must click the
double green arrow on the "Unit Bar" on top of the screen.

The following screen is a "Command Screen". You must select
a unit by clicking on it. If the blue arrow is selected
then that unit will enter a defend mode, when reaching the end
of the path, and will remain at that location.

If the Red Arrow is selected then, after the unit reaches the end of the
path, he will engage an enemy.

Once a unit is selected click on any position on the screen to
start a path. The path continues to generate until the "END PATH"
button is clicked. You can pass through the same tiles as many times as
you want, thus creating a loop of paths.

In order to start the simulation you must press the double green arrows
on the upper side of the screen. ONCE THE SIMULATION IS STARTED, YOU CANNOT
DEPLOY ANY MORE ACTIONS.

Units that are given commands (move-attack, move-defend) get a stats boost.

Tips:
To set units in a "patrol" mode create a path that goes through the desired points
as many times as you want.

License:
The code and assets are available under the CC-30 NON COMMERCIAL license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/3.0/).
I am not responsible for any harm that may come to you by using this software.

The game was developed using MOAI SDK and LUA. All the art assets were created using PAINT.NET.
Execution time: 48h, for www.ludumdare.com/compo LD26.
Libraries: Yonaba's JUMPER
My "Chaurus" framework: Github: https://github.com/BacioiuC/ChaurusFramework

Contact: www.twitter.com/zapakitul
bacioiu.ciprian@gmail.com



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#476Innovation3.22
#669Graphics2.89
#826Fun2.69
#897Overall2.85
#926Humor1.73
#1147Mood2.17
#1223Theme2.67

Comments

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Interesting game

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38am

That's a good game. It's just unfortunate that the AI is so bad. It's too easy to win with a basic strategy.
Moreover, the simulation is perhaps a little fast. I don't have the time to really appreciate what happens.

zapaman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Starting to work on the AI post-ludumdare. Will release an updated version with a post mortem on my blog www.bacioiuciprian.com . Thanks for playing guys.

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

cant run. gfx crashed on my pc(

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18am

Game crashes when I try to load it, with a very cryptic error message:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: play.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 51317a46
Fault Module Name: StackHash_0a9e
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21am

I like the idea, set the conditions and just let the game play itself out. Would you consider maybe giving the player one chance to change orders? Would allow for more tactical depth

zapaman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

@myachin, @LrdKzrth: What OS's are you using? :)

zapaman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

@karsyf: I could add a onetime mid-game pause which would allow you to re-send orders :)

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very well done, good AI and pathing with a cool idea. Nice one, Zapa.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Well done i love this game :D

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Interesting, it's a bot war ! I like the idea, but the game needs some polishing.

Xellinus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

You smell funny.
Also this is fun ;)

zapaman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

@Xellinus: You sure the smell doesn't come from your smexy bow-tie? :P

zapaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Postmortem and updated version here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/30/miwarfare-postmorted-and-post-jam-version/

@karsyf: you can now re-issue orders during gameplay :)

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:16am

Cool start to a game although it's not quite complete. This could be pretty fun with a bit more work. Nice job

Pinkerator says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:08am

Nice graphics. You could add more units in future versions and game become more tactical

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]