April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Saishou Sentou

by Joshua Douglass-Molloy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A 1-button stealth game with 1D movement.

Controls:
Space - Move


My first finished compo entry! Definitely minimal.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Theme4.31
#240Mood3.30
#266Graphics3.50
#374Audio3.00
#618Humor2.14
#621Innovation3.04
#674Overall3.06
#940Fun2.56

Comments

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Love the idea, it's a very good example of minimalism while still being pretty fun. Great job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Good use of the theme, congratulations!

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

I've been hypnotized.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

The idea is truly innovative and minimalistic :) Good job, man.

Skulls says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I enjoyed that experience quite a lot.

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48am

Interesting application of the theme. I think it's probably the best example I've seen so far of reducing a concept down to its essentials. I was a bit surprised by the ending, as I just had the "omedetou gozaimasu" sound loop as the level kept playing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33am

Cool minimalization of the stealth genre, though not very fun to play for me. It could have used some ambient music to pair with the flowing ink brush background, but all in all good work that fits the theme quite well.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35am

Man, that was the leanest, meanest shinobi I've played in a while! :) Great use of the theme and nice implementation of the one-button concept.
I made a one-button game for this compo, myself, as I'm sure many others have, and it's quite interesting to see how such a simple mechanic can be used to make games that are so different.

I liked the ink wash background a lot.

Congratulations! :)

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Couldn't play: "Oops! Google Chrome could not find www.jamalaide.org.au"

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

the art & gameplay are a good match. the music isn't bad either :)

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Site seems to be down. Will bookmark and try again later.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Sorry about the site going down. Here's a backup link for the executable. http://www.faithfulcorse.com/games/friends/saishou-sentou-windows.zip

Diamonde says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Truly minimalistic, and overall quality is very nice!
The music was mesmerizing and graphical style was not too bad. There seem to be a bug at the second level though, because it would never end for me. Some more levels of this would be awesome :)

Lafolie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

This is very playful, the music is really apt and inspirational.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

It crashed after I finished the third level :(
Other than that, It's a really cool entry!

meszka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice game, definately fits with the theme. Music and visuals were good too.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:46pm

=O strange game. cool!

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Great interpretation of the theme. Pretty simple and challenging. Great job.

anbreizh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Surprising, a very good use of the theme. I found it to be too difficult though

May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

Sadly I can't even start it because it's not for Win 32 versions. :(

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Every time I got caught, I flinched. lolz. First I thought what is that guy saying then ok.. You got me.. Nice job!

May 2, 2013 @ 6:32pm

A few notes:

While I didn't want it crashing after the third level, and should have it terminate properly, there is no fourth level.

The announcer says 「おめでとう」(congratulations) when you finish a level, 「残念」(Too bad) when you're caught and「おめでとうございます」(more polite congratulations) when you finish the game.

SuperlevelSebastian: I'm sorry to hear it's not working. I thought I was using x86 LOVE. I don't know what to recommend besides seeing if you can install LOVE2D yourself.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:34pm

What the hey, I know I can display those characters. If that was screwed up for anyone, those words can be transliterated "omedetou", "zannen" and "omedetougozaimasu".

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:15am

Really nice minimalistic game. I found the way the cover worked a little confusing but overall a really good take on the theme.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:45am

Josh: I don't think it can handle non-ASCII characters. I tried a few words in Ancient Greek, and it acted the same way

May 3, 2013 @ 5:25pm

beautiful

Gungnir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:52am

Definitely embraced the minimal across all aspects, though I wish there'd been some instruction.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I liked the idea a lot. I didn't love the implementation. It was interesting. The graphics and look were tasteful. Good job on your first.

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:18am

I like the idea behind this game. One button, one direction. Very unique.

mildmojo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:33am

Congrats on your first finish! Love the aesthetic here. It took some experimentation to figure out that I had to stop to pick up the items and that I could "hide" from the bad guys just by touching the green symbols, not completely moving behind them.

It crashed at the end, but it looks like you're aware of that. It would be great to see more levels!

dremelofdeath says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:37am

Theme was well executed. Was very sad that the game crashed after level 3. Very short. I agree that the implementation could be way better, but I like the idea.

May 7, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Haha I love it! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]