April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

They Don't Stop Coming

by SmallDeadGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires .Net framework 4 on Windows, and if it crashes on startup run oalinst.exe in the zip to install OpenAL.

Requires mono on Linux.

Controls are in the options menu, but default to:
Move left: Left arrow
Move right: Right arrow
Move Up: Up arrow
Move Down: Down arrow
Restart level (if you get stuck): R
Exit (in custom level or text level): Escape

The concept of the game is that you control a green square. You need to get the yellow square. The problem is the things between you and it. These consist mostly of red squares, annoying things which are clingy as hell and won't leave you alone. They move whenever you move towards the position at which you moved from. There are of course other objects you'll meet throughout the many levels.

There is a map editor. Upon saving it creates a mapeditor.xml file which can be shared with others to open with the Custom Level menu option.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Fun4.00
#19Theme4.38
#21Overall4.08
#57Mood3.81
#68Innovation3.92
#249Audio3.22
#336Graphics3.36
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

It was fun. I really enjoyed the audio and the little monologue at the bottom.

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Great game. Loved that AI was knowing where I was going. Music was great.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Doesn't boot here - Win8

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Played it on the IRC. Awesome, addicting and fun game! Love the new levels too.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Neat aesthetic. Some of the puzzles felt like the best way was to randomly walk around until you win.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Did a windows reupload because it seemed broked to some people in IRC, try the download link again if it doesn't work for you. Be sure to run oalinst.exe if it doesn't run in case the problem is openal

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Damn good use of the theme, and pretty puzzling to beat the challenges within. Felt a bit random at points but then again, I'm not too good with these puzzles D:. Good job! :)

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Some of these levels are so difficult, yet so fun. Amazing game.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Mono on my mac couldn't handle it but it may just be me. Has anyone else had luck with this on a mac?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Doesn't boot here as well (Win XP). :(

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Awesome. I didn't *quite* get the pathfinding through my head, so I routinely discovered a way through by accident, but that didn't keep it from being fun. The ghost trail when things move is super simple, but oh-so-attractive. Really pulls the whole look and feel together.

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

I love this!
What a simple pathfinder and a clever concept can do! ;)
Grats for finishing!

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Doesn't run in Wine for me.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I loved it! You did really well with the text below the screen. I couldn't get the map editor to work, but that didn't bring your score down any :D

gameXcore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:08pm

It was good, but I couldn't work out the rules behind AI movement, without knowing that, it felt less like a puzzle game, and more like randomly pressing buttons.

Muu? says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25am

Good puzzle experience.
The music was so low I didn't knew it was there until I read other comments.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:33pm

I really enjoyed that! The pacman level was incredibly hard, but I eventually got through it. In the end I did want more puzzles. You should make some more puzzles.

Only, please texture the blocks for us colourblind folks.

Good work!

Cryovat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Unfortunately, a window manager bug brought me to a point where I couldn't continue. Up until that point, I loved every moment of it.

The music is awesome. Really puts me at ease and gives me nostalgia. The puzzle mechanic in itself works very well. Great job! :)

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:24pm

OK so I would say this is a puzzly-strategic game where you induce the enemy to take a certain path while you conquer new spaces. Neat.

I find the concept really great and puzzle solution looks genuine after you realize the correct moves.
The music comes on top really well, helped me relax a bit.

I beat the game... "So they do stop coming" :)

JigxorAndy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:00am

Nice game! Some very unique and interesting mechanics, and the source code is clean and well presented too! Good job!

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I love the audio, the level titles, the trails.

It was never obvious how the red tiles would interfere with each other -- which would get to move. Since it's often critical to get them to converge on you and interfere with each other, not being sure which was going to be blocked meant I was just blitzing and restarting a lot of the time.

Simply restarting was probably good enough for most of these levels, but I would have spent a lot more time thinking if there had been an "undo" state -- if I moved and the result wasn't what I expected, move everything back one turn.

Anyway, really good game, decent depth, and yes, box pushing is serious business.

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:50pm

The most polished game i played yet! Menu, options, custom keys, map editor, solid level design, intruiging mechanics, nice variety on the levels. Good job man, i'm impressed :D

Pinkerator says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:06am

Wow! This cubes looks smart :) They like to block my ways

echa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:33am

Very nice!

echa says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:49am

> The music is awesome
Music?! I don't hear anything =(

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:14pm

The difficulty curve seems a little over the place, but a fun puzzler none the less. The level names make up a great commentary and the music is minimal too. Like it.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Cool entry! The chasing mechanic was fun and very addicting. The pacman-level was really hard, so I couldn't beat it, but the reference made me smile ;) Top score for theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]