April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Minimal

by sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

Hi Scores (Should have been online in the game)


sPoCkEr2 -- Level 22 -- Score 4555
ahm99 -- Level 13 -- 2231


Stop Mr. Minimal from destroying your world. Move colorful Colin around and change the Brown parts of your world to Green to complete the level.

Mr. Minimal starts off pretty slow, but as you finish more levels he gets faster and he multiplies.

How many levels can you complete?

The game starts to get rather hard at around level 20.

When you post your review -- please mention what level and
score you got. Thanks!!

Movement:

Arrow Keys or WASD

Looking forward to feedback!

Team Hocker


Update: Final version was put up a few minutes ago. Last minute addition of bonuses and power ups. Enjoy!

Update: There are still a few additional things we want to add so we will post a different version from the compo version when it is ready.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#156Humor(Jam)2.68
#197Audio(Jam)3.16
#355Mood(Jam)2.68
#362Overall(Jam)2.89
#380Fun(Jam)2.61
#408Theme(Jam)2.85
#425Innovation(Jam)2.44
#429Graphics(Jam)2.62

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Pretty decent game! I just wish Mr. Minimal moved a bit faster. Sometimes I would have the entire stage clear before he even traversed a single space. :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

keep playing -- he gets faster as you progress and more show up

foxor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

Same complaint here, I played like 30 levels and it's still trivially easy. I like the game though!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Much as I understand that he gets faster, it takes far too long before he gets faster and it gets repetitive really. That being said, it was actually fun, the graphics were all right, the music wasn't annoying, and lol, I kind of feel I have to say it's minimalism themed. Good job.

Aevek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

Finally died on level 10 because I spawned on one of the Mr Minimals twice. Quite annoying. Other than that, cool game. Loved the audio. My only minor criticism is the sprites for Mr Minimal and the player.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Level 13 Score 2231. Not bad. Good job.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

I like it

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

the music had a huge impact.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51am

The biggest issue I have is that Mr. Minimal himself is too slow - both his movements and his death animation. I didn't even realize he could turn squares back to brown until I was nearly at level 20!

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43am

interesting concept you had here. I like the controls and gamefeel your character had, but like other people have said, there doesn't really seem to be much of a challenge, at least not at the beginning

Dyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

I like this game but it seems to easy for me

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

Funny little game. I like it!

Meep says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:04am

Fun little game, but got very repetitive/difficulty didn't scale much. Great work, regardless. :)

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

Nice game, was fun to play. Maybe more enemies would pump up the game a bit more.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Awesome music and great core concept. It takes way too long for the game to get challenging... and what's the point of the stars? Couldn't pick them up at all. And yeah, it DOES pick up after level 20. :)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

The graphics are nice, but a walk animation could have made it a little better. Mr. Minimal looks like he's frozen when he moves.

PhaZ90771 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35am

Interesting game. I feel like Mr. Minimal should be able to move as fast as you can type, so the controls feel more fluid, or limit the enemies speed to Mr. Minimal's speed.

Level 25
Score 1751

Alexander says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27am

Great music. Bad guy spawned right on top of me once, which was annoying, like an automatic lost life. I score 1279 on level 7

Tifu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:50pm

2177 points - level 28 :)
Fun concept, a little issue with the difficulty pacing, it starts off incredibly easy for the first 17 or so levels, then after level 24 the red guys are going so fast and unpredictable that it is just luck hoping they don't bolt into you, and they stay in their corner. If it started off harder, but they had a little more pattern to their movement so there was a little bit of predictability (or even if they just faced a direction they were about to go) it might help a lot I think.
I was unable to pick up any coins - probably why my score is low for my level? - they just lingered on screen level after level :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:23am

there are a "few" bugs with the powerup and bonus points -- i am working on a post compo version with improvements

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:08am

Great music and graphics. As others have said, more challenge after the first levels would be welcomed.

Adipson says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:24am

fun. But it would have been even better if the character animation was done to make it less frozen

GranaDa says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:55am

Easy but funny. Maybe the game progression is a bit slow. Good job!

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:28am

I got to level 15 or so. There didn't seem to be a challenge at first, I had to pull myself forward to keep playing since it wasn't especially challenging in the beginning. It felt like the game sort of finished up despite not getting all the brown squares? It'd make for an interesting puzzle game if you had to get all of them to move forward. Great work though!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:18am

thanks for the feedback everyone

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:06pm

A little on the easy side, but a nice job nonetheless. The game has personality.

64Mega says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Enjoyed that. The difficulty curve was a bit odd and anticlimactic, but it's a solid game! Liked the music/sound too.

May 13, 2013 @ 2:43am

Could have used more challenge and variety but despite that it is a pretty neat and fun game.

My Milked Eek says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:18am

Fun game. Difficulty ramped up a bit too fast at levels 17-20 after staying very easy for 16 levels.

Jhelle says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Nice concept and music. Difficulty wise it could start a bit faster :). Reminds me a bit of Volfied.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Good game but starts way too slowly for me. Loved the character art, really funny.

infinitedog says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I'm listening the music in my mind.

It adapts to the theme.

Maybe it is too easy. Nevertheless, simple but funny. Good job.

TenTonToon says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

On the positive side, the game fits the theme ok, although it feels more simplistic than minimalistic, and the music was quite nice; the loop didn't get old.

On the flip side, I didn't have much fun with this game 'cause there was no real challenge to it. I just kept moving around without any sense of purpose or threat, avoiding the static red guy and the strange blue whirlpool that suddenly appears on screen. The victory condition is not clear enough, as you seem to be able to beat the levels without changing every tile's color.
Also, the graphics are really poor for a team effort/jam entry. If you only had added some small animation to the characters, it would've gone a long way towards completing the game's appearance.

Maybe if you added some more dynamic enemies moving around the game area, like in Qix, or a puzzle side to the color changing, like Q-Bert did, it would improve the overall sense of fun. But as it stands right now, there's nothing there to make me want to play it again.

Oye Beto says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:34am

1000 points, level 19 :)

It's too easy and repetitive. It would be cool if you could't step on green tiles again, so it would require more thinking.

I liked the music.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:42pm

>TenTonToon -- thanks for the feedback and just a FYI on the graphics -- my kids did them and they are 5 and 8 --

May 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

A bit too easy on like the first 13 or so levels, doesn't make you want to continue...Sorry! Nice music, however...! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Well made! A bit simple, but good work!

HeyChinaski says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice graphics and music.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Fun game. Extremely simple but interesting. I only thought that it's too easy. After level 15 I stopped because I didn't realized that the challenging curve is increasing. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]