April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Church of Minimalism

by kibertoad - Jam Entry

Grand strategy game about religious minimalization. In steampunk setting. With five different cities to overtake, lots of writing and a complex inner management system.

Most obvious approach to the theme ever, we know.

Java 6 is required for Macintosh users. Java 6 and 7 can be used on Linux.

F10 - quit.
F12 - fullscreen toggle.

Gameplay tips: city overview screen allows you to distribute your resources on such task as recruiting new members, spreading influence or influencing city agenda by spreading propaganda.

Here's how propaganda works: you set target agenda (e. g. "excessive production" or "no production at all") and then depending on how much resources is assigned on the propaganda city slowly slides towards the specified agenda.

In order to win you have to reach high minimalism in every city. Minimalism is increased each time city output in any area decreases.

You unlock missionary missions when you have enough followers and military strikes when you have enough influence.

Post-Jam version is in works. Please drop a letter to iselwin at gmail.com or tweet @kibertoad if you want to be notified when new version (with tutorial, better UI and more features) is done!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Mood(Jam)3.41
#138Graphics(Jam)3.72
#174Audio(Jam)3.25
#177Humor(Jam)2.58
#316Innovation(Jam)2.81
#320Overall(Jam)2.98
#395Theme(Jam)2.90
#514Fun(Jam)2.09

Comments

kibertoad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Intro voiceover was not working due to a typo in the code, uploaded a fixed archive.

lorancou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Need more info … perhaps a tutorial … keep me aware of that on twitter

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I have no idea what I have been doing, but somehow I controlled the whole city but nothing else... Some instructions, maybe? Because you don't really get feedback which of your actions influence what.
But other than that, cool artstyle and the music loop was really enjoyable.

Shymoonesk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I can't download the archive, it's an infinite DL :/
Please, use a better uploading site like Mediafire or Dropbox :)

kibertoad says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Thanks for the feedback! Post-jam version will include more in-game help via tooltips, maybe a tutorial.

Will provide alternative download locations later today.

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

Linux version does not run:
$ ./launch.sh
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: transientlibs/preui/objects/states/TransientGame
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:791)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:142)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:449)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:71)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:361)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:355)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:354)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:423)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:308)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:356)
at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper.checkAndLoadMain(LauncherHelper.java:482)
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: transientlibs.preui.objects.states.TransientGame
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:366)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:355)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:354)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:423)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:308)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:356)
... 13 more

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:30am

Tried to open run the launch.bat file, but it did not start. No error message given.

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Can anyone confirm that newly linked version works on linux?

hamster_mk_4: probably issue is that you don't have Java installed, I'm compiling native version now.

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

Same error as with stqn, doesn't work on Linux :(.

FREEZX says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50am

This game is confusing. Needs a tutorial or something

NateNaterson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

Pretty neat! Enjoyed the music and art a lot. The interface seemed a bit hard to understand, but overall it's a neat concept.

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:13am

I was unable to launch the jar on a Macbook running OS 10.6.8. The game looks Interesting though.

spirulence says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:03am

Leginar, we've just uploaded a Mac build that works over here on 10.8.3 with Java 6 only. Please let us know if that fixes your issue.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:19pm

I really liked this entry, the gameplay is pretty deep and the idea behind it is really cool! It took a little while to figure out what I needed to do though. The music was pretty good, and the art helped create that steampunk feeling. Good job!

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

There was a terrible disbalance due to a couple excessive zeroes, sorry! Uploaded Windows version that includes the typo fix, Linux/Mac versions will follow.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:21am

Strange game....buy i like graphics

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:21pm

You'll definitively gets stars for the mood, but the mechanics are still pretty mysterious to me...

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:59am

Nice work on this, there are more options than I realized at first.

davidpeter says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:15am

I couldn't understand the mechanics :/ Felt like I was looking at an airplane cockpit. Great mood, however.

Farjuan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Very amazing considering it was done in 72 hours

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Would be great to see a tutorial for this game, as I found it difficult to understand in the beginning. I also had some trouble understanding what caused which events. After playing it for a while, I started to get some understanding of the mechanics though, and combined with the steampunky atmosphere, the mood of the game was pretty good! I'll be sure to try it some more. Loved the music by the way.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice work but the game is not easy to play... perhaps a tutoriel could be added

Binary Gambit says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:40am

Interesting concept and the events are quite varied and creative. Unfortunately I got a crash when I tried to send the military to another city, on Win7 64.

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Wow.
I love the music and the graphic style.
Great Job.

hnjslater says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Yeh I had no idea what was going on. How about some form of tutorial? Very pretty though

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Thanks for reporting the crash! Uploaded fixed version that should allow combat to work properly in all cases.

Re: tutorial and complexity -> post-jam version is in works and will be released in early summer. If anyone wants to be notified of subsequent releases, please ping me on twitter or drop a letter with subject "LD game updates" to iselwin at gmail.com and I'll keep you posted!

donan says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:12am

Wow, liked the graphic style and the music. Awesome work for the little time we have.

kyyninen says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:45am

Liked the idea of dismantling an utopian society instead of building one. Combat/missionaries are pretty broken though, sometimes attempts to convert a city by force resulted in -512000 casualties for state. Game also abruptly ended by CTD, is there supposed to be an ending screen of some kind? Will keep an eye out for post-jam release!

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice game, love the concept and the art! :D

someone says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Finally, a java game that doesn't require java 7. Running Linux.
Nice game. Good artwork and music, but the interface was horribly lacking in feedback of what is happening and is not particularly intuitive.
Also sometimes I click a + button and the value decreases??

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:51pm

>Also sometimes I click a + button and the value decreases??
it's kinda the point. minimalism in our context means that the player should achieve more by downsizing infrastructure, so it is supposed to be about finding a balance between the destructive nature of the sect and in-game progression.

stqn says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:02am

I tried again; this time the game launched, but the intro froze my pc and I had to reboot :(. Arch Linux 64 bit with OpenJDK 7.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:04am

I couldn't get this to run :/

Madball says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Charming game! I liked the steampunk mood it sets.
The game, as you might already know, is very unintuitive. I couldn`t gain influence, followers, minimalism, or make any effect at all in any city execepting the Consumenopolis. I could transfer some followers with missionary, but they didn`t seem to do anything. I also didn`t gain any hostility or corruption at all. And, how much is "many minimalism"? 20? 100? 500?
Sometimes there is a bug: I have one point left, but I can`t spend it for some reason. Gets solved by revisiting the city. And can I gain points?
I would like a more detailed summary at the end of the day. Like, how much minimalism/influence/hostility/etc. each city got. I just have to click every city (discovering that nothing changed at all...).

Zim the Fox says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:35am

I love the graphics but this game badly needs a helpfile, at least. I don't have the will to try to understand it :P

Haven't rated yet.

numpad says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice game! Really liked the graphics. It was a great style.
Took me some time to get in the game. But anyway, nice entry!

May 19, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Excellent art-style and it shows in the graphics. Creates a completely different mood and it's easy to tell that a lot of effort went into this.

GreyShock says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I miss you kibertoad :)

I can't figure out how to play Church of Minimalism >_< It needs desperately some tutorial or at least a clearer feedback after every action. I could not say what happens each time after I click end turn. Also I don't know for sure what are my objetives short and long term.

Probably you know about all that :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]